Skip to main content

Music Research: Books & Sheet Music

guide to resources for music research, both in the Blume Library and online

Library Catalog

Find books, eBooks, movies, music, government information, and more in the Library Catalog.


Don't forget to ask a librarian for help if you have questions.

Songs & Librettos

The library's book collection includes librettos and song lyrics from a range of musical eras and in various styles. 

You can find these resources by searching the Subjects Songs or Librettos combined with your keyword (or click the links to see all items with that subject).

Books

The M call number area is the place to go to browse our music collection.  You will find books on such varied topics as classical music, rock, hip hop, jazz, popular songs, musicals, books focusing on musical instruments, and many others. 

You can take a look at a broad overview of our printed material on music by looking at the search results on the Subject: Music

In addition, I suggest searching for the name of the musician, album, artist, composer, instrument, or topic, using the Keyword search, to see what the library has on your specific topic.

Here are some titles that show the breadth of topics in our music book collection.


Scores

Print

The Blume Library's print collections include volumes of sheet music, mainly music for the symphony, orchestra, or classical instruments and for the opera. 

Search the Library Catalog, using the Advanced Search, and search for Scores as a Subject. Combine Scores with the name of the composer, type of performance, etc.  Click this link to see the complete list of items under the Subject: Scores.

Online

The Petrucci Music Library is an online collection of musical scores.  The goal of the wiki is "to is to create a virtual library containing all public domain music, as well as music from composers who are willing to share their work with the world without charge." The site is searchable.  Scores are available as PDF downloads.  Also includes some MP3 audio files from performers who contributed their performances to the site.