Encyclopedia Databases
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, a general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Note: Limited titles in our subscription.
Online Reference Books
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians
Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2001Gale. 6 volumes. "Covers all musical genres, with new entries written by a distinguished group of area specialists as well as the original articles by Nicolas Slonimsky. This work continues the tradition of offering the most comprehensive and authoritative information on musicians, along with interesting and insightful evaluations of their contributions to the musical world."
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990Call Number: onlinePublication Date: 2004Gale. 2 volumes.
The Grove Dictionary of American Music. 2nd edition. by Call Number: eBookPublication Date: 20139,000 entries. "The articles of the dictionary range from small definitions of dance styles and musical terms to mid-length biographies of important performers, composers and music patrons, to longer examinations of larger subjects such as the history of jazz, musical instruments, music education in the United States, and the American history of the orchestra." Includes over 400 images and 140 musical examples and other materials.
Print Reference Books
The reference books listed here are a subset of the print reference material we have at the Blume Library. I recommend browsing the M call number area in reference to view all our music reference materials in print.
The new Grove dictionary of music and musiciansCall Number: Reference ML100.N48 2001Print. A key resource for music research! This encyclopedia, a 29-volume set, includes detailed biographies of musicians and composers as well as entries on music topics.
