Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
Open Access
"Open access" mean information is freely available "on the public internet, permitting any users to read, download, copy, distribute, print, search, or link to the full texts of these articles, crawl them for indexing, pass them as data to software, or use them for any other lawful purpose, without financial, legal, or technical barriers other than those inseparable from gaining access to the internet itself. The only constraint on reproduction and distribution, and the only role for copyright in this domain, should be to give authors control over the integrity of their work and the right to be properly acknowledged and cited." (Budapest Open Access Initiative)
What is Open Access? Open Access Explained! - Video
Available through PHD Comics.
Open Access Resources
- arXivFree archive of pre-print and other articles in computer science, economic and econometrics, electrical engineering and systems science, mathematics, physics, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, and statistics.
- CogPrints (Cognitive Sciences ePrint Archive)Electronic archive for self-archive papers in any area of Psychology, Neuroscience, and Linguistics, and many areas of Computer Science (e.g., artificial intelligence, robotics, vison, learning, speech, neural networks), Philosophy (e.g., mind, language, knowledge, science, logic), Biology (e.g., ethology, behavioral ecology, sociobiology, behaviour genetics, evolutionary theory), Medicine (e.g., Psychiatry, Neurology, human genetics, Imaging), Anthropology (e.g., primatology, cognitive ethnology, archeology, paleontology), as well as any other portions of the physical, social and mathematical sciences that are pertinent to the study of cognition.
- Connect OER"A platform to share and discover information about OER activities at campuses across North America." The site is maintained by SPARC (the Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition), a global coalition committed to making "Open" the default for research and education.
- Creative CommonsDevelops, supports, and stewards legal and technical infrastructure that maximizes digital creativity, sharing, and innovation. Provides a set of copyright licenses and tools that create a balance inside the traditional “all rights reserved” setting that copyright law creates.
- Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)An ongoing planning initiative involving librarians, scholars, educators, and private industry representatives working toward the goal of building a national digital library by working to overcome the barriers of digital silos, disparate technical standards, disorganized and incomplete metadata, and a host of legal issues.
- DimensionsThe free version of Dimensions provides openly-available search and metrics for more than 100 million publications.
- Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new windowDOAJ is a unique and extensive index of diverse open-access journals from around the world, driven by a growing community, committed to ensuring quality content is freely available online for everyone.
This database includes content from:
80 Languages
130 Countries Represented
12,841 Journals without APC’s
18,646 Journals
8,261,932 Article Records - Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowPQDT Open provides the full text of open access dissertations and theses free of charge. The authors of these dissertations and theses have opted to publish as open access and make their research available for free on the open web.
- ERIC (free access) This link opens in a new windowERIC is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. The ERIC website is offered free for public use by the Institute of Education Sciences at the U.S. Department of Education. This site offers free access to a variety of full-text articles.
For more information check out the ERIC FAQ page: https://eric.ed.gov/?faq
- JSTOR Open Community CollectionsFeatures Open Access primary source materials in a wide variety of subjects contributed by libraries, museums, and archives.
- Knowledge UnlatchedThe premise for the KU project is that "by working together, libraries can create a sustainable route to Open Access for scholarly books and secure long-term cost savings for their own institutions by sharing the costs of making humanities and social sciences monographs available on a Creative Commons license."
- Making of AmericaA digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction containing approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. Subject areas covered include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- National Academies PressMore than 4000 reports issued by the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, the Institute of Medicine, and the National Research Council have been digitized and are searchable and available in html or pdf through this site. 200 news books are published each year.
- OAIsterA tool to search archives compliant with the Open Archives Initiative metadata standard. This can include open-access journals, institutional and subject repositories, as well as other digital archives, which may include educational or historical content in addition to scholarly journal articles. Includes more than 25 million records. Uses OCLC's WorldCat interface.
- Open Access Digital Library (Goldrush)"This open access directory includes over 12,000 journals from over 80 databases. All content is free to the end user. The best way to use this site is to search by name for a particular journal. If you don't have a name, you can also browse by journal subject to find journals in a particular subject area."
- Open Access DirectoryA compendium of simple factual lists about open access (OA) to science and scholarship, maintained by the OA community at large, presented in a wiki format. Hosted by the Graduate School of Library and Information Science (GSLIS) at Simmons College.
- Open Knowledge RepositoryIncludes World Bank published books from 2009-2012; all World Development Reports (WDRs) since 1978; Policy Research Working Papers (PRWP) from 2009-2012, a series of papers that disseminate findings of work in progress in order to encourage the exchange of ideas about development issues; Economic and Sector Work (ESW) studies from 2009-2012, a series of analytical reports prepared by Bank staff. ESWs gather and evaluate information about a country’s economy and/or a specific sector; Journal articles from 2007-2010 published in World Bank Economic Review (WBER) and World Bank Research Observer (WBRO), two journals published by Oxford University Press on behalf of the World Bank; Content in languages other than English; World Bank Group Annual Reports and Independent Evaluation Studies.
- Open Scholarship Initiative (OSI)"The Open Scholarship Initiative (OSI) is a global collaborative effort between all major stakeholders in scholarly publishing to improve the future of how research information gets published, shared and accessed."
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)Includes 7 open access journals: PLoS ONE, PLoS Biology, PLoS Medicine, PLoS Computational Biology, PLoS Genetics, PLoS Pathogens, and PLoS Neglected Tropical Diseases; PLoS Currents; PLoS Blogs; PLoS Hubs; and PLoS Collections.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowComprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites.
Note: only abstracts and open-access articles are available through this resource.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN)The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an abstract database containing abstracts on over 397,100 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection containing more than 326,200 downloadable full text documents in pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of fee based partner publications.
- VIVOAn open source, semantic web, open process platform for hosting information about scientists and their interests, activities and accomplishments. The site provides a multi-institutional search across the VIVO data of the seven partner institutions (Cornell University, Harvard University, Indiana University, Ponce School of Medicine, Scripps Research Institute, University of Florida, Washington University in St. Louis School of Medicine, and Weill Cornell Medical College) on the NIH grant.
Meta Open Access Search Tool
Internet Archive - Open Library Books & Books to Borrow
The Internet Archive Books collection provides some books that can be freely read and downloaded, while others can be borrowed and read in the Internet Archive's online book reader.
Open Access Information
- Landmark Steps to Liberate Open DataMay 9, 2013 posting on the White House Blog includes a 2-minute video about the Executive Order and White House policy on Open Data and other other Open Data resources.
- Lewis, David W. "How Scholarly Societies Solved Their Collective Action Problem," May 2019."Like all organizations, scholarly societies, face a collective action problem. As defined by Mancur Olson, the collective action problem is that individuals are not generally prepared to fund initiatives that further their collective interest. This paper explores the collective action problem faced by scholarly societies and how they solved it by generating significant surpluses from their publishing programs. It is argued that this solution will not survive the shift to open access publishing models, especially in light of Plan S."
- Lewis, David W. "The Inevitability of Open Access: Update One." IUPUIScholarworks. 26 Aug. 2013.This paper predicts that Gold OA (Open Access) could account for 50 percent of the scholarly journal articles sometime between 2018 and 2020, and 90 percent of articles as soon as 2021 and more conservatively by 2024.
- Maron, Nancy L. "Opening the Textbook: New Opportunities for Libraries and Publishers?" Ithaka S & R Blog. 6 Mar. 2014.Examines "recent trends in textbook publishing and suggests that collaborations between university presses and academic libraries might yield a new breed of textbook more aligned to the needs of faculty and students."
- Open AccessWikipedia entry is fairly extensive and includes more than 120 references.
- SPARC (Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition)Guides, presentation materials, and handbooks produced by SPARC and other organizations to help those interested in pursuing open access publication or advocating for open access to others in the academic community, to grant-making institutions, or even to bodies of government.
- Open Access OverviewOverview by Peter Suber, Director of the Harvard Open Access Project, Faculty Fellow at the Berkman Center for Internet & Society, Senior Researcher at SPARC, Open Access Project Director at Public Knowledge, and Research Professor of Philosophy at Earlham College.
- Policy Guidelines for the Development and Promotion of Open AccessSwan, A. (2012). Policy guidelines for the development and promotion of Open Access. Paris: Unesco.
- Project Open DataA collection of code, tools, and case studies, developed by the White House, to help agencies adopt the Open Data Policy and unlock the potential of government data. Anyone – government employees, contractors, developers, the general public – can view and contribute.