Skip to main content

Chemistry Research: Library Basics: Journals

tips on searching databases, finding journals from citations, and using Interlibrary Loan services

Discover: Find articles, books, and more...

Discover at the Blume Library log

Use Discover to search almost everything.

Advanced Search | What is Discover?

Journals in the Library & Online

internetMost of the Library's journal "subscriptions" are now electronic. Find articles in these journals by using our Discover service (above) or a specific database. The two most important databses for chemistry research are Academic Search Complete and Science Direct. Tips on using these databases are under the sub-tabs above.

noteWhich is the best to use? In terms of full-text availability of important chemistry journals, each of these databases has about the same number of titles. However, for a broader search, that will retrieve journal articles that will need to be requested through Interlibrary Loan, Science Direct is probably the better choice. For a comprehensive search, however, you should use both of these, and perhaps other, databases. (See the Other Databases tab above.)

  • NOTE that many articles in Science Direct will show up in Academic Search Complete. For journals that we have full-text access to, linking from ASC is sometimes rather buggy, however. Please ask a Librarian for assistance if you have difficulty accessing any articles. 

checkIf you have a citation (from another article, a bibliography, etc.) and need to know if the Library has in print or online, use the Journals List search box below.


booksThe 2nd floor of the Library houses our print journals. They are in alphabetical order by journal title. 

Journals List

Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?

Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and tell if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.

Search: Journals List

Open Access sources

An exciting new development in academic publishing is Open Access, which makes the reports of research freely available. Government-sponsored research is increasingly moving toward this method of research dissemination.

For more information on this important topic, and find links to collections of Open Access journals, see this Research Guide:

Interlibrary Loan

Remember that if we don't have access to a journal, you can request an article copy on Interlibrary Loan (ILL)