"Who knows, Dr. Jones? Perhaps in 1000 years even you will be worth something."
— Raiders of the Lost Ark
From the standpoint of historical research, any and all government publications could be considered as potential primary research materials. To limit the scope of this guide to a manageable amount of material, only the following are included.
In addition, I have included information about publications of specific agencies, usually those with limited scope, and about major series.
NOTE that the Library ceased receiving new tangible government documents in Spring, 2016, and withdrew large numbers of tangible documents during the previous year.
Particularly when searching for older material in any library, it helps to know something about the history of the collection.
The Blume Library (then called the Academic Library) became a U.S. documents depository in 1964. Most of our printed material, therefore, is of that vintage or more recent.
However, in 1964 the Library was in possession of some government documents that had been published earlier and purchased. Most of this material was integrated into the new documents collection, and is shelved on the 2nd floor with Superintendent of Documents classification numbers.
For more information on how the collection is organized, see the Finding Government Information guide
A few government publications have remained in the Library of Congress (LC) classification system and are shelved on the 3rd Floor of the Library or on the 1st Floor in the Reference Collection. Some of these items are described in this guide, with their call numbers given. For items not in the documents stacks, the call numbers are printed in red.
Resources in the blue boxes in this guide are available in print in the Library's collections, and most may be checked out by eligible borrowers (they are also available for interlibrary loan). Classification numbers given are in the documents collection, on the Library's 2nd floor, unless otherwise specified. Items with REF call numbers may not be checked out.
Looking for a document, video, or other information that you know you saw on a government website, but now it's nowhere to be found?
These various archiving projects might be able to help you out. Note that the archived websites might have broken links or other non-functional content.
Readers of this guide will notice immediately that no single agency is responsible for all publications relating to history.
Because of this dispersion of pertinent material throughout the Federal government, users of government information are urged to use the Library Catalog and other sources, such as indexes, in order to perform comprehensive searches.
Many other useful sources are described and linked in other LibGuides:
Also be aware that other libraries in the city may have more extensive collections in certain areas than we do, and we may borrow from these libraries. Ask a librarian for assistance if you have difficulty finding the information you need.