U.S. Government CDs/DVDs in the Library: Census/Demographics

2010 Census

We have begun receiving 2010 CDs/DVDs. Much more 2010 data is available now on American FactFinder. Check here for 2010 Census news (where we found the nifty interactive map pictured below):

2010 Census Summary File 1. C 3.282:2010/Disc 1-2/DVD. These DVDs contain information from the 100% Census questions (basic demographic data). Special display software runs automatically on the DVD, and there are user manuals on each disc.

2010 Census Summary File 2. C 3.282/2-3:2010/Disc 1-2/DVD. These DVDs contain information from the 100% Census questions (basic demographic data). Special display software runs automatically on the DVD, and there are user manuals on each disc.

2000 Census

American Indian Area/Alaska Native Area/Hawaiian Home Land Census 2000 Maps. C 3.275:AM 3. To use this DVD open the file main.htm in a web browser.

Block Maps. C 3.275:B 62/VI-T 00-BLCK-14-.../DVD. These DVDs contain zoomable PDF files of maps showing Census Blocks. They may be used opening the desired state or place file, or by opening the file main.htm in a web browser.

Census 2000 Island Areas Summary File. C 3.223/23-2:2000 PHC-4-08-USIA/CD. Covers Guam, Samoa, Virgin Islands, and Marianas. Software must be installed.

Census 2000 Migration Data on DVD. C 3.275:M 58/DVD. This DVD requires special software to use. To look at a table of contents and instructions, view the file DVD_PRODUCT_DOX_final, which is available as a PDF, Word (doc) or txt file.

Census Tract Outline Maps. C 3.275:M 32/DVD. This DVD contains PDF files which show boundaries and numbers for the Census Tracts in effect for the 2000 Census. If the DVD does not run upon insertion, open the desired PDF file. There is another DVD for the 1990 maps (C 3.275:M 32/2/DVD). To use it, open the file main.htm in a web browser.

Congressional District Summary Files. C 3.282/4:103,104,108,109,110. These DVDs require the special Census data engine, which is on the disk, or other special software (such as a spreadsheet program).

County and City Data Book. C 3.134/2:C 83/2/2000/CD. This CD requires special software, which may be installed upon insertion of the disk in the CD drive.

Landview 6 on DVD. C 3.301:6. Mapping software for viewing Census, EPA and USGS files. The DVD requires installation of the Landview program, which is on the disk.

Modified Race Data Summary File. C 3.275:R 11/2/CD. This CD provides racial data for all persons in the U.S. from the 2000 Census, where that data has been modified to meet the needs of particular data users. See the file TechDoc.pdf on the CD for details. If the CD does not run upon insertion, run the file LAUNCH.EXE on the CD.

Race and Hispanic or Latino Summary File. C 3.275:R 11/CD. Numbers of people by race and Hispanic origin for geographical areas down to counties and places. If the CD does not run upon insertion, run the file LAUNCH.EXE on the CD.

State Legislative District Summary Files. C 3.282:2000/2 . This DVD requires special software to view data tables, but some information is in PDF files.

Special Tabulation on Aging. C 3.281/2:V 1-D 90-TABS-08-STP 9. If this DVD does not run upon insertion in the drive, run LAUNCH.EXE. This will install special software.

Summary File 1. C 3.275:F 48/DVD. This DVD should run automatically upon insertion into the drive. If it does not, run the file LAUNCH.EXE on the CD. The "National File" version of this DVD is at C 3.282:2000/NAT. and contains some different tabulations. It requires the special Census data engine, which is on the disk, or other special software (such as a spreadsheet program).

Summary File 2. C 3.282/2-3:2000/DVD. These DVDs require the special Census data engine, which is on the disk, or other special software (such as a spreadsheet program).

Summary File 3. C 3.282/2:V 1-D 00-S3ST-08-US 1 and C 3.282/2:V 1-D 00-S3ST-08-NAT1 (National file). These DVDs require the special Census data engine, which is on the disk, or other special software (such as a spreadsheet program). The National file contains some different tabulations.

Summary File 4. C 3.282/2-2:2000 and 2000/NAT (National file). These DVDs require the special Census data engine, which is on the disk, or other special software (such as a spreadsheet program). The National file contains some different tabulations.

(Unless otherwise noted, to use these CDs, run the file GO.BAT on each CD.)

Census of Population & Housing STF 3A Data. C 3.282/2:CD-90-3A-  . Detailed population and housing data (from long-form questionnaires) for States and subareas down to block group level.

Block Statistics. C 3.282:CD 90-1B-  . Some population data to block level. There are no maps with this data; you must know boundaries and block numbers to use effectively. Documentation on Reserve with CD.

Census of Population & Housing STF 1C Data. C 3.282:990-1C. U.S. summary, larger geographic areas. Data is in DBase format.

Census of Population & Housing STF 1D,3D Data. C 3.282/4:103-109. Data for Congressional Districts.

Census of Population & Housing 3B Data. C 3.282/2:CD 90-3B . (NOTE: we are missing the disk containing data for zip code areas 4,5 and 6). Detailed information by Zip Code.

Census of Population & Housing 3C Data. C 3.282/2:CD 90-3C . Detailed information on urbanized and non-urbanized areas.

Metropolitan Housing Characteristics C 3.286:CD 90 SSTF 07 A-H.

Special Tabulation on Aging. C 3.281/2:CD 90-AOA-  . 15 discs. Geographic arrangement.

Subject Reports C 3.286:CD 90 SSTF #.  (paper copies of many of these reports are in the Documents Stacks: C 3.223/10:)

• Adults with Work Disabilities (04)
• American Indians (13)
• Ancestry of the Population (02)
• Black Population of the U.S. (discs A and B only) (21)
• Characteristics of the Asian & Pacific Islander Population (05)
• Condominium Housing (18)
• Earnings by Occupation & Education (22)
• Education/Employment Status (12)
• Fertility (16)
• Foreign-Born Population (01)
• Geographic Mobility (15)
• Housing Characteristics of New Units (09)
• Housing of the Elderly (08)
• Journey to Work (20)
• Mobile Homes (10)
• Occupation & Industry (14)
• Older Population of the U.S. (19)
• Persons of Hispanic Origin (03)
• Poverty Areas in the U.S. (17)

2002

ECON02 Report Series. C 3.277:V1-E 02-NAIA-17-US-1. The disks require special software to view the data.

1997

1997 Economic Census. The CDs require special software to view the data.

• Disk(s) 1: Industry and Geographic Statistics. C 3.277:CD-EC-97-1.
• Disk(s) 2: SIC-based files from special censuses (Outlying Areas, Business Expenses, Women-Owned Businesses, Minority-Owned Businesses, Core Business Statistics Reports). C 3.277:CD-EC-97-2.
• Disk(s) 3: Employment, sales-size and manufacturing data by Zip Codes. C 3.277:C 1-E 97-NA 32-17-US 1.

EconN Report Series (Nonemployer Statistics). 1997-2001. C 3.277:C 1-3 01-NOEM-17-US1. This CD requires special software to be used.

Earlier Years

1987 Economic Census. C 3.277:EC 7/987. To use these CDs, run the file GO.BAT.

1992 Economic Census. C 3.277:CD-EC 91-1,2,4. To use these CDs, run the file GO.BAT.

• Vol. 1. Report Series
• Vol. 2. Zip Code Data
• Vol. 4. Nonemployer Statistics (establishments with no paid employees)

The most recent Economic Census data is online from the Census Bureau.

2007

A 92.54:2007/V.1-2/DVD. 2009. A table of contents runs upon insertion into a DVD drive. The disk includes Census data as well as expanatory material and highlights.

1997

1997 Agriculture Census. A 92.53/56:997. The data and reports are on 3 CDs. 1A includes U.S. and state-level data; 1B contains county-level data. 1C includes state and county tables in PDF format. To use this CD, open the file E: README.PDF in Adobe Acrobat.

1997 Agriculture Census Subject Series. A 92.54:997/V.2/PT.3. Installation of special software is required to view some of the data, but other files are in PDF. To view these, open WELCOME.PDF in Adobe Acrobat.

Earlier Years

1992 Agriculture Census. C 3.277:CD-92 AG 1 (Area series), 2 (Zip Code serie). Geographic data by state and zip code. To use, run  GO.BAT for the "Area Series," or GO92.BAT for the "Zip Code Series."

1987 Agriculture Census. C 3.277:AG 8, 8/2/987/. There are three different disks with 1987 data. To use, follow these instructions:

• Area Statistics: Run GO.BAT
• Zip Code Statistics: Run GOZIP.BAT
• Specialty Files: This CD contains mixed file formats. The file README explains how to access them.

Statistical Abstract. 1994-2011. C 3.134/7: Software for viewing these compendia has evolved over time.

• 1994: run GO.BAT
• 1995-1998: open WELCOME.PDF in Adobe Acrobat.1995 and 1996 CDs do not have internet links, as the later CDs do, nor do they offer an Excel download option. The 1995 CD's table index as displayed in Acrobat is not as useful as in the later versions. To access this CD using the Textware Lite software instead, run GO.BAT. 
• 1999 and later CDs: should run upon insertion into the CD drive; If a table of contents is not given, choose Launch from the main menu. 

Extensive print holdings are in the Documents Stacks at C 3. 134: . The Census Bureau offers scans of Abstracts back to 1878, with more viewing features for recent years 

USA Counties. C 3.134/6: . 1996, 1998. Demographic, economic, and governmental information spanning several years and sources for county comparisons and profiles. To use the CD, run the file GO.BAT. There is an online version of the 1998 book available at the Census Bureau.

Social and Demographic Characteristics of the U.S. Population. C 3.275:C 37. Many of the reports on this CD are in Adobe Acrobat format; some data tables require Beyond 20/20 software, which is on the CD. Some of the reports may be available in printed form in the documents stacks under the classification number C 3.186: . Consult the Online Catalog for specific titles.