Skip to main content

Government Information Sources in Science & Technology

Covers major government science/technology websites as well as highlighting the Library's collection in these areas.

National Institutes of Health

NIHThe NIH is one of the world's foremost biomedical research centers, and the Federal focal point for biomedical research in the U.S. The major Institutes represented on the web page are listed below. On each of these pages, you can find general and technical information on the subjects studied and funded by these organizations.

Here are the "Institutes" at NIH:

More important NIH links:

Medline/PubMed

Medline/PubMed is a massive database of health-related literature (international, from 1966 to the present) maintained by the National Library of booksMedicine. The primary database is of citations only, but many of the articles are freely available. Follow the navigation link "Full Text Articles" to get more information about locating the articles.

The Medline system is a complex of many different databases. One of these related databases is PubChem, which provides information on the biological activities of small molecules, including structures and technical data such as registry numbers. And even more resources are available, easily linked from the National Library of Medicine. Another site of interest is Medline Plus, with information for laypersons on all kinds of health-related issues. (More about this on the tab for Nutrition/Personal Health.)


The National Library of Medicine offers a large variety of other resources. Here are some of them: 

Centers for Disease Control & Prevention

The CDC conduct research into diseases and their prevention, as well as monitor diseases and other health problems worldwide. The main sub-centers are listed below; consult them for specific information on their subjects.

CDC

Other CDC links:

Other agencies

In the Library

NOTE that the Library ceased receiving new tangible government documents in Spring, 2016, and withdrew large numbers of tangible documents during the previous year.

Advisory Committee on Human Radiation Experiements, Final Report. PR 42.8:R 11/H 88. 1995. This Committee reviewed experiments conducted between 1944 and 1974 with the following aims: to determine the government's role in the experiments, to determine by what ethical standards it is appropriate to judge the experiments, and to identify lessons to be learned from the study of past and present research standards and how this knowledge can be applied in the future. The report is available online from the Internet Archive.

Compilation of Selected Acts. Y 4. C 73/8: [Congress no.- LETTER] (shelved at the end of each Congress' documents).The House of Representatives' Energy & Commerce Committee periodically publishes collections of laws under its jurisdiction, many of which pertain to environmental topics. They are scalessimple compilations of laws in force, with no explanatory material. Below is a list of the relevant volumes. The Library keeps the latest edition of each volume. Check the Library Catalog for the volumes currently in the collection.

  • Food, Drug & Related Law
  • Health Law

EpidemiologicHealth, US Trends in Drug Abuse. HE 20.3969: 1990-2003. (some years in MICROFICHE) The meetings from which these proceedings are taken are held to provide "community-level public health surveillance of drug use and abuse through presentation and discussion of quantitative and qualitative research data." There is a highlights/summary volume and a proceedings volume each year. Some years, including more recent than 2003, are available online from the National Institute on Drug Abuse.

Health, United States. HE 20.6223: (1975,1979-92); HE 20.7042/6: (1993-  ). Annual, some years have supplemental volumes. Largely consists of statistical data, with some narrative explanations and summaries. A "Statistical Abstract" for health issues and concerns, the reports cover all aspects of morbidity, mortality and health care in the U.S. Some issues are available online.

Healthy People. HE 20.2:P 39/3. 2010. The most recent report in this series. The Library also has volumes of the 2000 report at HE 20.2:D 63/8. The Healthy People initiative outlined specific goals for the Public Health Service, and the reports monitor the initiative and provide background information. These and other publications related to the initiative are available online from the CDC.

booksPresident's Commission for the Study of Ethical Problems in Medicine and Biomedical and Behavioral Research. PR 40.8:ET 3/ . Reports include such topics as "Defining Death," ""Making Health Care Decisions," Protecting Human Subjects," and "Screening and Counseling for Genetic Conditions." Note that these reports are from the 1980's and thus the technical information in them is out of date. They are still useful for background reviews of the topics.

Some more recent reports from the President's Council on Bioethics, which took over from the Commission, are Beyond Therapy: Biotechnology and the Pursuit of Happiness (PR 43.8:B 42/T 34, also available online) and Reproduction and Responsibility: the Regulation of New Biotechnologies (PR 43.8:B 52/R 29, also online).