Skip to main content

Environmental Science Resources: Library Basics: Journals

description of library and internet resources useful for research in environmental topics

On this page

Search Articles: Subscription Databases

If you're looking for articles about a topic, begin with library subscription databases. Here are recommended databases:

Discover: Find articles, books, and more...

Discover at the Blume Library log

Use Discover to search almost everything.

Advanced Search | What is Discover?

More databases

scienceMore databases are available on scientific and technological topics. The Library staff has made these subject-related compilations of use for environmental research:

Look for a journal title

internetMost of the Library's journal "subscriptions" are now electronic. Find articles in these journals by using the indexes described in the box on the right. 

If you have a citation (from another article, a bibliography, etc.) and need to know if the Library has in print or online, check the Journals List, below.

Search: Journals List

booksThe 2nd floor of the Library, houses our print journals. They are in alphabetical order by title. 

Database Search Tips

  • Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
  • Break your topic into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
  • Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
  • Use Boolean connectors like andorand not to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
  • In general, avoid using prepositions like "in," "of," and "on."
  • Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
  • Look at the subject terms or descriptors that are used for articles that appear relevant. Try other searches using those terms.
  • Consult a librarian or your faculty member for additional related terms.
  • Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.

Evaluate Article Relevance & Quality

  • Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
  • Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
  • Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
  • How long is the article?
  • In which journal or periodical was this article published? What is the journal's or magazine's reputation? How do you know?
  • When was the article published? What time period does the research or article cover?
  • Who is the author of the article? What are the author's credentials? What qualifies the author as an expert?
  • What sources are cited in this article?
  • How will this source advance the research project?
  • See Evaluate Information for more criteria.