Skip to main content

Using eBooks at the Blume Library

This guide provides step-by-step tips to find and use eBooks, particularly EBSCO eBooks. Includes tips on how to download an eBook to your computer and transfer to an eReader. Also includes links to free eBooks online.

Google Books

Google Books logo

Google Books includes many full text, copyright free books in addition to copyrighted, non-full text materials.  Search the site for a word, author, title, and then select "Free Google eBooks" along the left side to see the full text books.

Government Information

FDLP logoThe Government Publishing Office is also beginning to offer true eBook content, in various eReader formats

The Blume Library offers access to thousands of online government publications (websites, PDFs, and more) via the Discover.  We also produced guides about accessing government publications.

HathiTrust Digital Library

HathiTrust Digital LibraryHathiTrust Digital Library is a partnership of research libraries to provide access to library records and digitized material.  Some of the collections are copyright free and made available for free online via the Catalog Search.  Select "Full View Only" to find full text material.

Project Gutenberg

Project Gutenberg logoProject Gutenberg is a volunteer-driven collaborative project that offers free online books. Books are primarily older works that have fallen out of copyright in the United States.  Many titles may be downloaded to eReaders via ePub or Kindle format.  The site also includes some audio recordings.