Literary Criticism vs. Book Reviews
Book reviews tend to be written and published shortly after the book under review is published. Reviews tend to be written during a time contemporary to the work analyzed. Book reviews are usually not the same as literary criticism, although they may be used in some literary approaches, e.g. reader-response, or when a work has not yet received much scholarly attention.
Book Review Sites
- Book Review Digest Plus This link opens in a new windowUnlike reviews on book-sale sites and the open web, many of the reviews in Book Review Digest Plus are from citable journals, making it an invaluable resource for literary and biographical research.
Subject indexing, summaries, annotations, and grade-level designations make this a useful tool for reader's advisory, collection development, and curriculum support.
Content Includes:
600,000 full-text book reviews
2,400,000 review citations
5,000 indexed journals with citations to every book review
50,000 new reviews are added each year
Coverage Dates: 1983 - present - Choice Reviews This link opens in a new windowSince its founding in 1964, Choice has led the industry in high-quality evaluations of nonfiction academic writing. Choice Reviews and its print companion, Choice magazine, are invaluable sources of bibliographic reference and recommendation for both collection development and individual research. Choice Reviews and Choice publish 4,200 new reviews annually, contain over 200,000 reviews of academic monographs, and serve 2,400 institutions worldwide.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowA great place to find book reviews that appear in newspapers and magazines. It is not a good source for reviews published in scholarly journals.
- Historical Newspapers: New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the time's politics, society, and events.
The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2019
Subject coverage - Historical local, regional, national and international news
