Discover - Basic Search Screen
Discover is a service that acts like a search engine of many of the Blume Library's resources, including books and eBooks, background articles, journal articles, streaming video, and government information. The Basic search screen default limit is set to items Available in the Library Collection.
Discover - Advanced Search Screen
Discover = EBSCO Discovery Service = EDS
Why & When to Use Discover
- Starting research on a topic new to you or to your students
- Topic is interdisciplinary or multidisciplinary
- Uncertain about which library databases will retrieve the desired information
- Especially helpful for undergraduates, but helpful for faculty & graduate students, too
What's Included
- Library Catalogrecords for books, DVDs, CDs, government documents and information, selected documents from other sources records and links to full-text for eBooks, government information, selected online videos
- Subscription DatabasesNearly all of the library's subscription databases, with the exceptions noted below.
What's Not Included
This list is subject to change.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Open Dissertations makes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) more accessible to researchers worldwide. The free portal is designed to benefit universities and their students and make ETDs more discoverable.
Content Includes:
1,500,000 electronic theses and dissertations
320 worldwide universities that have loaded their dissertations to date - Cabells Scholarly Analytics This link opens in a new windowSince its founding over 40 years ago, Cabells' services have grown and evolved to include Journalytics (a searchable, curated database of critical information about journalytics and reputable academic journals), Predatory Reports (the only searchable database that identifies deceptive and fraudulent journals), manuscript preparation tools and a suite of powerful metrics designed to help its users find the right journals, no matter the stage of their career.
The Source, Cabells’ e-newsletter, is sent out every other Wednesday to more than 12,500 subscribers and provides coverage on topics impacting the scholarly community. The Source contains original content from Cabell's team members, curated news pieces, updates on industry events, and the latest information from Cabells. Each issue is read by thousands of researchers, librarians, editors, and publishing professionals from around the globe. - Dissertations & Theses @ St Mary's University This link opens in a new windowTo find St. Mary's Dissertations & Theses, please also search the Blume Library Catalog. In addition to the copy available for circulation, a second copy of the printed dissertations and theses from 1937 to 2016 are available.
Dissertations: St. Mary's dissertations (blue binding) are listed in the Library Catalog and are shelved on the 3rd Floor. Dissertations from 2016 to the present are available in electronic format only. To find all dissertations written by students in our Ph.D. program, search the keyword phrase: St. Mary's University and dissertation
Theses: Search the Library Catalog to find Master's theses. Masters degree theses (red binding) are shelved on the 3rd Floor. Theses from 2017- are available in electronic format only. Use this format to find theses via the Library Catalog keyword search: St. Marys University "department name" thesis
Graduating doctoral students must upload an electronic copy of their dissertations to Proquest after graduate school approval and before the graduation deadline. - ESG Direct (MSCI) This link opens in a new windowMSCI is a leading provider of critical decision support tools and services for the global investment community. With over 50 years of expertise in research, data, and technology, we power better investment decisions by enabling clients to understand and analyze key drivers of risk and return and confidently build more effective portfolios. We create industry-leading, research-enhanced solutions that clients use to gain insight into and improve transparency across the investment process. MSCI’s industry-leading analytics include Barra multi-factor models; pricing models; methodologies for performance attribution; RiskMetrics models for statistical analysis, such as VaR; and tools for security analysis, portfolio optimization, backtesting, and stress testing.
Content includes ESG ratings, IVA ratings, ARG ratings, Controversies Flags, and Business Involvement Screenings about various global businesses as modifiable search parameters. Also includes publications (Bond indexes, Industry, methodology reports, and thematic reports) about various issues - Google Books This link opens in a new windowGoogle Books is a service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition, and stored in its digital database.
Most books are not available in full text. "Get the Book" links to WorldCat to see the libraries that own the book. Request books that our libraries don't own using Interlibrary Loans using forms found here: https://lib.stmarytx.edu/ILL. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats, times, and disciplines. **Only use academically sound resources. When in doubt, check with a LIBRARIAN
- HeritageQuest This link opens in a new windowUS Federal Census records from 1790-1930 and over 25,000 genealogical books on local history, genealogy, and primary source materials. It covers 50 states and Canada, England, and Ireland.
Content includes: City Directories, Census Map Guide, U.S. Indian Census Rolls, Mortality Schedules, Agricultural, and Industrial Schedules, U.S. Freedman's Bank Record, 1861-1875 - Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. To search the full collection from an off-campus location, students and faculty will need individual research accounts, which can be requested directly from HDSL. Be sure to use your St. Mary's University email account.
- Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new windowThe Internet Encyclopedia of Philosophy (IEP) was founded in 1995 to provide open access to detailed, scholarly, peer-reviewed information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy. The IEP articles are written by experts but not for experts in analogy to the way the Scientific American magazine is written by scientific experts but not primarily for scientific experts.
The Encyclopedia also offers articles on all the most influential philosophers of earlier centuries, such as Plato, Aristotle, Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Leibniz, Locke, Berkeley, Hume, Kant, Hegel, Schopenhauer, Kierkegaard, Mill, James, Russell, Wittgenstein, Husserl, Heidegger, and Quine. - Learning Express Library This link opens in a new windowLearningExpress Library is an easy-to-use online test prep resource that helps people improve their core academic skills, earn a high school equivalency, prepare for college, join the military, obtain occupational certification, find a job, change careers, become U.S. citizens, and much more.
Targeted Learning Centers:
- College admissions and placement exams (ACT®, SAT®, AP® and TOEFL®)
- Academic skills improvement for 4th-grade skills level through college (reading, writing, math, science)
- Graduate School Admissions exams (DAT®, GRE®, GMAT®, LSAT®, MAT® and MCAT®)
- Adult learning (reading, writing, math) with U.S. citizenship test prep
- High school equivalency (GED®, HiSET® and TASC™) test prep
- Spanish-language content academic skills improvement as well as GED® and U.S. citizenship test prep
- Occupational certification exam prep for careers in nursing and allied health, military, law enforcement, education, and the trades
Note: You need to create a free user account. - LLMC Digital (Law Library Microfiche Consortium) This link opens in a new windowSearchable online access to government and legal literature. LLMC Digital preserves global legal and government content at risk due to time and other elements by migrating print and microform into contemporary media. The addition of page tagging, quality control, and citations provided by seasoned experts enhances research among the substantial, varied collection of materials. Vital metadata by law librarian professionals creates discoverable content across all titles, including manuscripts, broadsides, various languages, and other challenges.
As of January 2023, LLMC-Digital offers the following:
Online Titles - 28,667
Online Volumes - 153,392
Online Images - 92,357,845
California Records and Briefs - 420,164
California Records and Briefs Pages - 15,120,861
New York Records and Briefs - 24,313
New York Records and Briefs Pages - 3,846,448
7th Circuit Records and Briefs - 64,978
7th Circuit Records and Briefs Pages - 2,422,583
Serials - 2,212 as of October 2022 - Historical Newspapers: New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the time's politics, society, and events.
The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2019
Subject coverage - Historical local, regional, national and international news - Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open-access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,960,883 theses and dissertations.
- Open Library This link opens in a new windowOpen Library is a partnership of libraries to offer the interlibrary loan of eBooks directly to library patrons. Account holders can borrow eBooks from the site. St. Mary's University is a participant in the Open Library initiative. The Internet Archive and participating libraries have selected digitized books from their collections that are available to be borrowed by one patron at a time from anywhere in the world for free. These books are available in BookReader format and usually in PDF and ePub formats.
Create an account to start using Open Library. Take a look at the Help page for more information. - Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language. - PhilPapers This link opens in a new window
PhilPapers is a comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy maintained by the community of philosophers. We monitor all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, open-access archives, and personal pages maintained by academics. We also host the largest open-access archive in philosophy. Our index currently contains 2,636,438 entries categorized in 5,846 categories.
- Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowLocate open access dissertations and theses free of charge. Full text.
- Dissertation Express This link opens in a new windowDissertation Express is the fastest and least expensive way to obtain the dissertation(s) you would like to order. Dissertations ordered through Dissertation Express are available in PDF or bound copy formats. Dissertations are shipped by courier delivery to your home, school, or office. Select from over two million titles available from ProQuest. If you are looking for a known item to see if we have it available, you can try finding it on Dissertation Express. The site can be searched by keywords, author name, title, or publication number.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines. Each entry is maintained and kept up-to-date by an expert or group of experts in the field, and all entries and substantive updates are refereed by members of a distinguished Editorial Board. As of March 2018, there are nearly 1600 entries online.
- Texas Digital Sanborn Maps (1867-1970) This link opens in a new windowProvides digital access to large-scale maps of Texas towns and cities. Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1984 to the present. Searchable. Indexing includes subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.
- Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) This link opens in a new window
The Women Film Pioneers Project (WFPP) is a digital publication and resource that advances research on the hundreds of women who worked behind the scenes during the silent film era. Always expanding, WFPP publishes original scholarship on women who worked all around the world as directors, producers, screenwriters, editors, and more.
WFPP features short career profiles on single individuals, longer thematic peer-reviewed overview essays, and shorter multimedia posts, all by film scholars, film curators, archivists, and historians. In our published profiles, we cover women who worked in national cinemas across six of the seven continents.
As of November 2022, there are 313 women represented by our published pioneer profiles. - WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowSubscription interface. Choose this version if you want to use advanced searching techniques, including sorting by number of libraries who own an item. WorldCat provides information on the holdings of the world's libraries. The public version, designed for most users, is available online at worldcat.org and on the databases list.
- WorldCat Public This link opens in a new windowPublic interface. Search the Blume Library's collection and many other libraries worldwide.
