Skip to main content

HS1302 - US History since 1877 - Whitener

Research tips and help for writing blog posts for HS1302. Includes links to background sources like encyclopedias, article databases, how to find and use images, help locating primary sources, and an in-class library workshop activity.

Primary Sources by Region

The online sources listed below are just a small sample of the archival materials available on the Internet.  A small number are archival databases from the Blume Library'.

I selected these collections because of either their prominence or their potential to interest students at St. Mary's University. 

Primary sources are arranged by geography. Choose a region to see a list of primary source collections for the area. 

International

Australia

Central & South America, Caribbean

Europe

Best Bet

Additional Sources

These sources are more narrow in their focus but are very useful to find primary material for specific research topics.

Middle East

Best Bet

Additional Sources

These sources are more narrow in their focus but are very useful to find primary material for specific research topics.

United States

Best Bet
Additional Sources

These sources are more narrow in their focus but are very useful to find primary material for specific research topics.

Texas

Note: Several sources listed in the United States box are also relevant to Texas history researchers.

Use Google Advanced Search to Locate Primary Source Collections

Google Advanced Search will be a useful tool to help locate online primary source collections if you do not find ideas from the Online Primary Source page list of resources.  You can tie your topic search with the following terms to find online primary source collections.  Feel free to copy and paste the following into the box labeled "any of these words". 

repository "digital collection" "online collection" "digital library" "online library" "digital archive" "online archive" "virtual library"

I recommend limiting your search to the site or domain.  For instance, .edu for educational institutions, .gov for government websites, or .org for organizations. Org website are defined broadly so be very careful to evaluate sources from .org websites.  Of course, you should always evaluate all sources you use.

Video: Finding Primary Source Collections with Google Advanced Search.