Company and industry research resources. Tips for finding information in library databases, governmental sources, company portals, and other research websites. Designed for Professor Matt Gilley's course in Fall 2017.
US Census Bureau source that provides economic data by industry (NAICS). Data sources searched include: County Business Patterns, Economic Census, American Community Survey, Business Dynamics Statistics, and more.
"provides sample estimates of statistics for all manufacturing establishments with one or more paid employee. Provides statistics on employment, payroll, supplemental labor costs, cost of materials consumed, operating expenses, value of shipments, value added by manufacturing, detailed capital expenditures, fuels and electric energy used, and inventories."
Provide "a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. Many programs also produce additional industry detail, including state and regional data." Typical data: workplace data, earnings, prices, number of establishments.
"Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys about 140,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 410,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls."
Provides "monthly, quarterly, and annual measures of industrial activity... The primary objective of the CIR program is to produce timely, accurate data on production and shipments of selected products."
Includes current and annual estimates of sales, inventories, inventory-to-sales ratios, purchases, operating expenses, inventories held outside the United States, gross margins, and accounts receivable.
provides "estimates of revenue and other measures for most traditional service industries. The survey collects data from companies whose primary business or operation is to provide services to individuals, businesses, and governments"
Monthly and annual sales and inventory of U.S. wholesales. The annual surveys include estimates on sales, e-commerce, end-of-year inventories, inventories held outside the U.S., purchases, and total operating expenses.
Data about EU member countries, candidate countries, and the EFTA from the statistical office of the European Union. Statistics from 9 "themes" including general/regional, economy/finance, population/social conditions, industry/trade, agriculture/fisheries, external trade, transport, environment/energy, and science/technology.
"The United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database contains detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It concerns annual trade data from 1962 to the present."