Explore the Topic
Use these tools and databases to explore your topic. While you may have a preliminary thesis statement, keep your search broader at this point:
- Research Starters is a feature in Discover that provides links to citable, authoritative summary articles for thousands of popular topics. When a user conducts a search in Discover, a Research Starter may appear at the top of the Result List. For those topics identified as most popular, Research Starters will retrieve relevant articles that link the user to related information and detailed bibliographies. See the Discovering Discover guide for more information about Research Starters.
- TOPICsearch This link opens in a new windowThis current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms.
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology
Research Starters (1)
When a user conducts a search in Discover, a Research Starter may appear at the top of the Result List.
Research Starters (2)
Detailed view of a Research Starter entry.
TOPICsearch database search screen
Advanced Search options in the TOPICsearch database.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) - Topic Finder
-TopicFinder.png)