Research tips and help for writing blog posts for HS1352. Includes links to background sources like encyclopedias, article databases, how to find and use images, help locating primary sources, and an in-class library workshop activity.
A video streaming service with a broad selection of documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers. Featured producers include BBC, the Criterion Collection, the Great Courses, HBO, PBS, and many more.
Digital collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. Thematic subsets include digitized images of the pages of American magazines that provide rich content detailing American history and culture.
Manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Also includes rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, historic maps, and travel journals. Materials from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection.
Primary source material of Western Americana. Includes manuscripts, maps, rare book sources, and ephemeral material. Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection of Western Americana at the Newberry Library.
Citations for journal articles, books, essays, and government publications covering all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life. Dates of coverage range from the sixteenth century to the present. Limited full text.
Full text law journals, case law, and treaties. Also includes the Code of Federal Regulations, Congressional Record, Federal Register, US Reports, famous world trials, legal classics, UN and League of Nations treaties, and much more.
Provides digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of over 12,000 American towns and cities.
Founded in 1867 by D. A. Sanborn, the Sanborn Map Company was the primary American publisher of fire insurance maps for nearly 100 years. Users of Digital Sanborn Maps have the ability to manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and easily print them out. Each large-scale plan contains detailed property and land-use records that depict the grid of everyday life across a century of change. The maps provide a wealth of information, such as building outline, size and shape, construction materials, height, building use, windows and doors, street and sidewalk widths, boundaries, and more. The plans often include information and shading for steel beams or reinforced walls, plus symbols for stables, garages, warehouses, etc. Also depicted are pipelines, railroads, wells, water mains, dumps, and heavy machinery likely to affect the property's vulnerability to earthquake, fire, and flood. Maps also give street names, street and sidewalk widths, and house and block numbers.