Gale Literature Resource Center makes it easy to search biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information on authors from around the world and throughout different time periods. This database provides critical analysis, primary sources, and detailed work overviews, along with in-depth biographical, bibliographical, and contextual information. There are more than 165,000 complete entries from popular literature series, including two award-winning series, Gale Literature: Contemporary Authors and Gale Literature: Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Includes Contemporary Authors, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and the Dictionary of Literary Biography.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, the teaching of language, and the history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
Content Includes:
3,100,000 records
25,000 indexed journals and book series
2,000 book publishers
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America.
JSTOR journals, books, images, and primary sources are integrated into a single, robust platform that uses the latest digital technologies and best practices. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full runs of journals from more than 2,800 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. More than 100,000 ebooks from 250+ renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. This source also includes open-access articles!
Begin your search with this database! Contains more than 8,500 full text periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Includes multiple languages. Journals offered cover all areas of study.
Active full-text, non-open access journals: 3,201
Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals: 2,758
Active full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo: 1,008
Project MUSE offers open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities work from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. Through our open-access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These materials are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
For more than 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 800 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 80,000 books from more than 140 presses. MUSE also offers over 4000 open access books on the platform.
NOTE: Limit to "only content I have access to" to find free full-text.
Database Search Tips
Think about your question.
Break it into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.
Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
Use Boolean connectors like and, or, and not to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
Evaluating Article Relevance
Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
How long is the article?
Who is the author of the article?
In which journal or periodical was this article published?
Browse through the article to get an idea what the article is about. Try to find an article that contains a perspective or information you didn't previously know.
Copy or type the MLA citation information into an email message. You may need to edit this information. Be sure the name of the database is included with the citation.
Write one viewpoint or fact contained in this article that you didn't previously know. Write this in your own words.
Considering currency, reliability, authority, accuracy, and purpose of the article, write one or two sentences about why you would or would not use this article as a source for your paper.
Include your name in the email message.
Enter EN 3391 and your name in the subject line of the email message.
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and determine if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.
