Home - TH 1301 - Introduction to Theology - Blume Library at St. Mary's University

TH 1301 Course Description

Introduction to Theology - This course provides an introduction to the academic study of theology in Christian traditions, engaged with other traditions. The course introduces students to fundamental ideas, terminology, cultural contexts, literature, and texts that hand down human questions and understandings of God and what it means to be God’s people. This course fulfills the core requirement for a first theology course.

TH 1301 K - Library Padlet Activity

TH 1301 L - Library Padlet Activity

Databases and Discover

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
The premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered.

Coverage Areas:
Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, philosophy, and ethics

Total Number of Records:
More than 3.4 million, including
* 2,500+ journal titles in total, 1,200+ of which are currently being indexed
* 1.2 million+ journal article records
* 287,000+ essay records
* 1.1 million+ review records
* 470,000+ book records
Discover This link opens in a new window
Blume Library's primary search tool. This robust feature helps scholars find scholarly journals and articles, books, eBooks, music, videos, government information, and more. Input the keywords of your research to generate a results list full of articles and items covering the topic. Use boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) and other limiters to focus a search or modify a results list. This tool searches most of the Blume Library holdings including the Library Catalog of physical items and eResources.

Learn more about this powerful resource: DISCOVER

Reach out to a Blume Librarian for research assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE

Related Guides

Citation and Documentation Guide
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Feb 26, 2024 239 views this year
Evaluate Information
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Sep 15, 2023 23 views this year
What is a Scholarly Journal? How Do I Find Scholarly Journal Articles?
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Nov 3, 2023 748 views this year
Catholic Social Teaching
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Feb 27, 2024 3367 views this year
Marianist Resources
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Feb 27, 2024 170 views this year
Theology Resources
by Diane Duesterhoeft Last Updated Feb 27, 2024 1003 views this year

Search the Oxford English Dictionary

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
The Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.

As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.

The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.