Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Political Science & Public Administration Databases
Contains full text for nearly 250 of the world's most respected scholarly law journals.
Includes local, regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as non-English language news; business information about US and international companies; federal, state and international legal materials including case law, media transcripts, and more.
Focuses on law journals, case law, and government documents. Some United States collections include the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and parts of the Serial Set. Other notable collections offered are the US state collections, Canon law materials, international treaties and agreements, English legal materials, and United Nations legal materials.
LLMC Digital (Law Library Microfiche Consortium)
Searchable online access to government and legal literature.
Academic Search Complete
Begin your search with this database! Contains more than 8,500 full text periodicals and indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. Includes multiple languages. Journals offered cover all areas of study.
Business Source Complete
Key database for business and economics research. Includes scholarly journals, business and industry magazines, country reports, company and industry reports, and videos.
Homeland Security Digital Library
Includes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. To search the full collection from an off-campus location, students and faculty will need individual research accounts, which can be requested directly from HDSL. Be sure to use your St. Mary's University email account.
Military and Government Collection
Offers current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government by providing a thorough collection of periodicals, academic journals, pamphlets, and more.
Search for scholarly works from a wide variety of disciplines.
GPO Government Publications Catalog
Search for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. Indexes materials such as congressional reports, hearings, debates, agency publications, and more. Provides links to materials available online.
An interdisciplinary database of leading academic journals with full text articles. Most articles are 3-5 years or older. Full text available for many titles.
Look for free text of books and journals in the humanities and social sciences. NOTE: Limit to "only content I have access to" to find free full-text.
Database Search Tips
- Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
- Break your topic into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
- Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
- Use Boolean connectors like and, or, and not to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
- In general, avoid using prepositions like "in," "of," and "on."
- Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
- Look at the subject terms or descriptors that are used for articles that appear relevant. Try other searches using those terms.
- In the sciences and social sciences, when starting a journal article search on a topic, consider adding systematic review or meta-analysis, or literature review in your search.
- Consult a librarian or your faculty member for additional related terms.
- Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.
Evaluate Article Relevance & Quality
- Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
- Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
- Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
- How long is the article?
- In which journal or periodical was this article published? What is the journal's or magazine's reputation? How do you know?
- When was the article published? What time period does the research or article cover?
- Who is the author of the article? What are the author's credentials? What qualifies the author as an expert?
- What sources are cited in this article?
- How will this source advance the research project?
- See Evaluate Information for more criteria.
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and determine if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.
Journals List Video
Watch this short video if you want to see an example search with remote access.