Databases by Subject
Questions? Ask Us
Looking for a specific journal? The Blume Library's Locating Journals search allows you to search for a specific journal, newspaper, or magazine and tell if the library offers online or print access.
Remote Access to Databases
Access to subscription databases is limited to St. Mary's University faculty, staff, and currently enrolled students. Subscription databases are marked by a key . Most subscription databases may be accessed off campus via EzProxy.
You will be prompted to enter your username and password to access subscription databases when you are off-campus. Your username is your ID number (found on your Rattler Card). Your password is your last name. DO NOT USE YOUR GATEWAY LOGIN.
If you are not able to login, please call the on-duty librarian at Research Desk at (210) 436-3508. If a librarian is unavailable, please email the library using the Ask Us email service and include a description of your database access problem.
Examples Login Accounts
Username: Your username is your ID number (found on your Rattler Card). Username Example: 4565678
Tip: Don't use letters or leading zeros. If your ID number is 0004565678 then use 4565678 as your username. If your number is s00056789, then use 56789. Your password is your last name.
Password: Your password is your last name.
Password Example: Smith
Password Example: Smith-Jones
Password Example: De Leon
Password Example: McNaughton
Password Example: O'Bannion
Password Example: Smitherish-Jones
Tip: Type your last name in with the first letter capital and remaining letters lowercase. EzProxy is case sensitive and won't work if you don't type your name correctly. Use spaces, dashes, and apostrophes if your last name includes them. If you registered with the University under a different name than the one you are currently using, please try both variations of your name .
Note: If you are at a place of business that uses a firewall, you probably won't be able to connect to the proxy server. Please try again from a computer that is not behind a firewall. If you use a personal firewall and you can't connect, please turn the firewall off temporarily and try again.