This is the "Home" page of the "President's Peace Commission " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
St. Mary's University Blume Library Hours Databases Contact Us Library Catalog

President's Peace Commission  

Detailed listing and descriptions of recordings from the St. Mary's University President's Peace Commission symposia.
Last Updated: Apr 14, 2015 URL: Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page

Follow Us on Facebook

facebook icon


Stay Tuned for Future Programs



The President’s Peace Commission fosters an ethical commitment to participate in the establishment of world peace and social justice. The Commission encourages respect for human rights and dignity of all people. The Commission annually hosts symposia that offer opportunities for students, faculty and staff to grow in their active pursuit of peace and justice.

Through the symposia and other activities, the Commission seeks to build within the St. Mary’s University community a greater awareness of the Roman Catholic and Marianist perspectives on peace and justice. The President’s Peace Commission reflects the University community through student, staff, and faculty representatives appointed by the University President.

The President’s Peace Commission was established in December 1984 at the urging of faculty who felt a need for peace education in response to East-West tensions, especially nuclear war. Guided by the Judeo-Christian, Catholic stance on war, the Faculty Senate proposed that the University President establish a Peace Commission.

Multi-day symposia are held one or more times per academic year. Each year, several thousand students, staff, faculty, and community members attend the President’s Peace Commission programs. Videos documenting these sessions are available for viewing in the Louis J. Blume Library. 

The Art of Peace Award Presentation Ceremony has been held each spring since 1999. Each awardee is a regional artist in any medium, whose life work has promoted peace, justice, and understanding.


President's Peace Commission

President's Peace Commission image by Bro. Cletus Behlmann, SM

Current Commissioners

Below is a list of current President’s Peace Commissioners for 2014-2015. 

  • Clare Acosta (Staff Co-Coordinator)
  • Hannah Ektefaei (Student)
  • Alexandria Hackworth (Student)
  • Marcy LaBossiere (Staff)
  • Michelle McLaughlin (Student)
  • Cheyenne Palmer (Student Co-Coordinator)
  • Dr. Michael Sullivan (Faculty)
  • Jacqueline Toranzo (Student)
  • Jorgina Villegas (Student)

Loading  Loading...