Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
Data Sets
- Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)Formerly the American Religion Data Archive, ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Includes American and international collections and features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
- Data.govProvides public access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. View datasets by agency, or search by keyword or category.
- DataONE"DataONE is a community driven project providing access to data across multiple member repositories, supporting enhanced search and discovery of Earth and environmental data."
- Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Data SetsAccess original data sets, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
- Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Supports and sponsors educational activities and research.
- Nation MasterA large central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. Includes a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, and OECD. A commercial site with an easy user interface that gets researchers quickly to informative data.
- WHO DataData portal provides data and analysis on global health priorities. Includes a data repository and country statistics.
- World Bank DataThe World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.
Statistics Sites
Statistical Abstract of the United StatesCall Number: Ref HA 202 .U51 & US Docs C 3.134: (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 1878-2023Standard annual summary of US demographic, social, political and economic statistics with recent time series. Some international data.
1878-2012, with some years missing, is online at the US Census Bureau site.
1878-2012 is also available at Hein Online.
1915-2012, with some years missing, is in US Documents C 3.134:. The US Documents editions may be checked out.
2013-2023 is in the print Reference Collection at REF HA 202 .U51.
- Government DatabasesFreely available databases that include journal articles, statistics, and datasets.
- IDEA (Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance) Voter TurnoutThe most comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available. The figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 are presented country by country, using both the number of registered voters and voting age population as indicators. Also available are the most recent indicators of literacy and human development, as well as other data and material.
- Open SecretsDeveloped by the Center for Responsive Politics, the site tracks the influence of money on US politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives.
- Follow the Money - National Institute on Money in State PoliticsWeb site and database provided by a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that reveals the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states.
- National Center for Charitable StatisticsA national repository of data on the nonprofit sector in the United States. A project of the Urban Institute's Center on Nonprofits and Philanthropy.
- UC-San Diego - US Government Information: Stats/DataA link-rich guide to statistics and data sources from the federal government.
- UTSA - US Government InformationLinks to other government guides as well.
Map Resources
- Opportunity AtlasA mapping interface that allows public access users to conduct neighborhood-level analyses on social mobility. The tool helps users better understand which neighborhoods offer children the best chances of climbing the income ladder later in life.
- Social ExplorerUse interactive tools to easily create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyse data and discover amazing facts. Includes 220 years of demographic data, 25,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Access current and historical demographic data, create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily.
- WorldmapperA collection of nearly 700 world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
- Migration Policy Institute DatahubProvides access to international and US migration data and maps.
- Modern Language Assocation (MLA) Language MapUses data from the US Census 2000 to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
Thank you to Jennifer Hanson at Primary Source for recommending many of the resources above.
Ongoing Research Projects
- The Sentencing ProjectA national organization working for a fair and effective criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing law and practice, and alternatives to incarceration. Founded in 1986 to to provide defense lawyers with sentencing advocacy training and to reduce the reliance on incarceration.
- The American Presidency ProjectThe project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contain 90,144 documents, including the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States.
- Pew Research CenterA nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information and data on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Important projects include:
* The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
* Pew Internet & American Life Project
* Pew Hispanic Center
* Pew Global Attitudes Project
* Social & Demographic Trends
Local Data & Statistics Sources
- Census Data: Data.Census.GovPortal to Census data from 2000 to the present. It replaces American FactFinder.
- City of San AntonioLinks to crime data and statistics, health data and statistics, maps and GIS data, and zoning information. Also see Open Data SA.
- Community Information NowDataBrowse or search data by topic, county or special focus area.
- Opportunity AtlasA mapping interface that allows public access users to conduct neighborhood-level analyses on social mobility. The tool helps users better understand which neighborhoods offer children the best chances of climbing the income ladder later in life.
- San Antonio MediaLinks to local newspaper, magazine, radio, and other media sites.
- Texas Government Information ResourcesIncludes links to the Texas State Data Center, the Texas Almanac, and more.
Local Data & News Sources
(Community Information Now) - aggregates Bexar County data from a variety of sources.
nonpartisan, nonprofit online news organization in San Antonio, with the goal of "informing and engaging people about public policy, health, the environment, education and culture."
local coverage of politics and issues in San Antonio, TX.
largest newspaper in the San Antonio market. Paid subscription required to access full text content. Selected free articles online via the MySA portal.
-
San Antonio Express-News (1990-present) through NewsBank is available through the San Antonio Public Library website.
-
San Antonio Express-News (1954-1977) through NewspaperARCHIVE.com database is available onsite at the UTSA Libraries.
covers a full range of topics including public and higher education, health care, immigration, criminal justice, energy, poverty, the environment, water, transportation
San Antonio Media - a selective list of links to magazine, newspaper, radio, television, and other media sources in the greater San Antonio area.