Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Career Starting Point
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance, 16th Edition. by
Publication Date: 2015
Each article offers detailed career information, sidebars, and other user-friendly features, including a new Career Ladder, which shows common career paths for each profession, and new sections, such as Unions and Associations and Tips for Entry.
Occupation & Career Sites
Learning Express Library
Materials to help with job preparation, career advancement, career changes, and re-entry into the workforce. Includes SAT, ACT, GMAT, GRE, LSAT, and MCAT test prep, and other certification, licensing, and aptitude tests. Note: You need to create a free user account.
Helps students and professionals plan more fulfilling lives by making informed decisions about their educations and careers.
The qualities the US State Department seeks in Foreign Service Officers, including composure, cultural adaptability, initiative and leadership, and more.
Career OneStop: Pathways to Career Success
United States Department of Labor-sponsored Web site that offers career resources and workforce information to job seekers, students, businesses, and workforce professionals.
Provides links and information about careers, cities and towns, and colleges, universities, and trade schools. The career directory presents information on hundreds of employment categories and thousands of schools, to help people find and pursue careers of interest to them.
Employee-oriented job and recruiting site that includes company reviews, interview questions, and a salary estimator.
This site allows visitors to research federal agencies and government careers as well as provide practical tips for completing your application. This site does not post job announcements or accept applications.
Linkedin.com - Jobs
Set up alerts for position opening meeting your specified criteria.
Linkedin.com - Salary
Get a detailed breakdown of salaries by job title and location.
Online employment opportunities site with job search advice and career management tools.
A primary source of occupational information. Provides a database that is the basis for Career Exploration Tools, a set of valuable assessment instruments for workers and students looking to find or change careers. Identifies bright outlook occupations and green occupations.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Describes nature of each occupation's work, number of people employed in the US, training and other qualifications, job outlook, earnings, and sources of additional information. Provided by the United States Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics.
Vocational Discernment Sites
Provided through Harvard Divinity School's Career Services, this discernment guide can be used by individuals from a broad variety of backgrounds and experiences.
What Do You Like? BLS Career Information
Explore career interests based on Bureau of Labor Statistics career profiles.
Mobile online job application site listing more than 8 million jobs.
Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
, Communication Studies
, Core Curriculum
, Earth & Environmental Science
, English Literature & Language
, Exercise & Sport Science
, Government Information
, Information Literacy
, International Relations
, Political Science & Public Administration
, Women's Studies