Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
One-Volume Theology Dictionaries
Theological dictionaries define a great variety of topics. These words do not need to be found in the Bible. For example, the words "pope," "euthanasia," "Mozart," or "excommunication" may be discussed in a theological dictionary. These scholarly definitions when defined in a recently published dictionary, will help you update older explanations found in other resources. Browse through the Reference Collection at the call letters shown below for other titles.
- To find other theological dictionaries, browse the BR 95 call number area.
- Bible dictionaries can also be searched in the St. Mary's University libraries catalog. This is the key tool to finding books in our library. Use a Subject Search to find materials about your topic or an Advanced Keyword Search. To locate additional general commentaries, try the following Subject Search:
The Oxford Companion to Christian Thought by Call Number: REF BR95 .O94 2000 (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 2000
Multi-Volume Theology Dictionary
Ebook Theology Dictionaries
Sacramentum Verbi: An Encyclopedia of Biblical Theology by Call Number: ebookPublication Date: 1970Available via the Internet Archive:
Volume 1 (Abraham - Hour)
Volume 2 (Humility - Righteousness)
Volume 3 (Sabbath - Wrath)
Westminster Dictionary of Theological Terms by Publication Date: 1996310 pages. Provides short, one to three-sentence definitions of more than 5,500 theological terms from more than 20 theological disciplines.
Crazy Talk: A Not-So-Stuffy Dictionary of Theological Terms by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781506418476Publication Date: 2017Captivating, entertaining, and highly informative, Crazy Talk helps readers navigate their way through that complexity and offers a vocabulary that dares (and equips!) its readers to embrace their own faith in a new, well-informed way. The purpose of Crazy Talk, says editor Rolf A. Jacobson, is to render the heart of our Christian theology in a form that is accessible and appealing to everyone. The format of the book is similar to that of a dictionary of theological terms, but with a twist of humor! Each entry includes the name of the theological term, an ironic definition of the term, and a short humorous essay offering a fuller explanation of the term. In making the term understandable, Jacobson concentrates on the big theological issue that is at stake in the term and why it matters. This revised and expanded edition includes new and expanded entries and all new images.
