Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
Finding Book-Length Commentaries
To find book-length commentaries (monographs) or scriptural criticism on a specific book of the Bible, use a Subject Search or an Advanced Keyword Search. Use a subject search because you are trying to find books about your topic.
- Monographs can often provide more detail than one-volume commentaries.
Example subject headings:
Bible -- O.T. Genesis -- Commentaries
Bible -- O.T. Genesis -- Criticism, interpretation, etc.
Many of the items you will locate through the above searches will be located on the Third Floor of the Blume Library and can be checked out.
Note: The library catalog also includes videos, periodical (journal) titles, master's theses, and many government documents that the Blume (Academic) and Law libraries own, as well as links to eBooks (electronic books) and other selected electronic resources.
Hint: Start your research early so that you have some selection of commentaries!
One-Volume Bible Commentaries
- To find other commentaries in the print Reference collection, browse the BS 491.2 call number area.
- Commentaries
can also be searched in
the St. Mary's University
libraries catalog. This is the key tool to finding books
in our
library. Use a Subject
Search to find materials about your topic or
an
Advanced Keyword
Search. To locate additional general commentaries, try the
following Subject
Search:
The New Jerome Biblical Commentary by Call Number: REF BS491.2 .N485 1990 (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 1990
The HarperCollins Bible Commentary by Call Number: REF BS491.2 .H37 2000 (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 2000- Catholic Commentary on Holy Scripture byCall Number: REF BS491.2 .O7 1953 (2nd Floor)Publication Date: 1953Available online at the Internet Archive.
Ebook Bible Commentaries
The Books of the Bible by
Publication Date: 1989847 pages. 2 volumes. Scribner Writers Series. Contains discussions of the writings found in the Old and New Testaments. Provides interpretive essays that deal descriptively with the content, purpose, and theological perspective of each book of the Bible. Primary emphasis is on the Bible as literature.
The Oxford Bible Commentary by Publication Date: 2007Detailed verse-by-verse commentary, written by over 70 of the world's leading biblical scholars from all the major Christian traditions and Judaism. Includes all the canonical books for the Protestant, Catholic, and Orthodox traditions, and non-biblical Jewish and Christian writings from the biblical era. Combines the fruits of the historical-critical method with insights from other critical approaches to Bible study. Includes major introductions to every biblical book.
Search the Library Catalog
Find books, ebooks, movies, music, government information, and more in the Library Catalog.
Don't forget to ask a librarian for help if you have questions.
Finding Bible Commentaries in Journal Articles
The tools to locating articles in periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) are subscription periodical databases. Rather than browsing through hundreds of journals or magazines, databases lead you to journals and journal issues in which articles on your topic are located.
University faculty frequently recommend or require students to use scholarly journal articles in writing research papers and projects. Learn more about scholarly journals and the articles they contain.
- Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new windowReligion & Philosophy Collection is an essential full-text database for theology and philosophy research. It includes hundreds of full-text journals and magazines covering many religious and philosophical topics, including world religions, religious history, political philosophy, and philosophy of language.
Content Includes
127 active full-text, non-open access journals, and magazines
105 active full-text, non-open access peer-reviewed journals and magazines - ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowThe premier index of articles, reviews, and essays in all fields of religion and theology, and offers significant breadth and depth of subject areas and languages covered.
Coverage Areas:
Bible, archaeology, and antiquities; human culture and society; world religions and religious studies; church history, missions, and ecumenism; pastoral ministry; theology, philosophy, and ethics
Total Number of Records:
More than 3.4 million, including
* 2,500+ journal titles in total, 1,200+ of which are currently being indexed
* 1.2 million+ journal article records
* 287,000+ essay records
* 1.1 million+ review records
* 470,000+ book records - JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR journals, books, images, and primary sources are integrated into a single, robust platform that uses the latest digital technologies and best practices. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full runs of journals from more than 2,800 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. More than 100,000 ebooks from 250+ renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. This source also includes open-access articles! - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities work from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. Through our open-access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These materials are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
For more than 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 800 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 80,000 books from more than 140 presses. MUSE also offers over 4000 open access books on the platform.
NOTE: Limit to "only content I have access to" to find free full-text.
Online Bible
- New American BibleProvided through the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops web site.