PA 6300 - Quantitative Methods for Public Administration

898 pages. 2 volumes. Highlights the most important political science topics, issues, questions, and debates in the 21st Century. Includes basic institutions of government, political ideologies and cultures, public opinion, political parties and elections, political communication, political economy, international relations and institutions.

1712 pages. 3 volumes. Designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas which motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Included are short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.

1025 pages. 2 volumes. Covers the diverse and complex topics surrounding governance for the period between the collapse of the post-war consensus and the rise of neoliberal regimes in the 1970s. Concentrates primarily on topics related to the changing nature and role of the state in recent times and the ways in which these roles have been conceptualized in the areas of political science, public administration, and sociology.

1136 pages. 3 volumes. Information and ready-to-use facts from the fields of measurement and statistics. Specifically designed to appeal to beginning and intermediate-level students, practitioners, researchers, and consumers of information. Appendix A is a guide to basic statistics for those readers who require an instructional step-by-step presentation of basic concepts in statistics and measurement. Appendix B is a table of critical values used in hypothesis testing and an important part of any reference in this area. Appendix C represents a collection of some most important and useful measurement and statistics Websites.

858 pages. 2 volumes. Discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. Focuses on important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites.

1098 pages. 2 volumes. Covers this multifaceted field utilizing experts from numerous disciplines. Subject areas include anthropology, biology, business, chemistry, communications, criminal justice, demography, economics, education, environmental studies, geography, health, history, languages, political science, psychology, social work, sociology, and women's studies.

494 pages. 2 volumes. Covers all major facets of survey research methodology, from selecting the sample design and the sampling frame, designing and pretesting the questionnaire, data collection, and data coding, to the issues surrounding diminishing response rates, confidentiality, privacy, informed consent and other ethical issues, data weighting, and data analyses.

1719 pages. 3 volumes. Explains how to make decisions about research design, undertake research projects in an ethical manner, interpret and draw valid inferences from data, and evaluate experiment design strategies and results.

510 pages. Provides an overview of approximately 250 projects, legislation, legal cases, people, and organizations that have shaped the development of waterways in the United States over the past 150 years.

1412 pages. 3 volumes. Contains over 700 original articles written by more than 125 renowned scholars. The entries contributing to this work explore poverty in various regions of the world, and examine the difficulties associated with the definition and measurement of poverty, along with its causes and effects.

1209 pages. 2 volumes. Provides thorough historical coverage of every major aspect of federal and gubernatorial elections in the United States.

483 pages. Provides primary source documents focused on immigration and multiculturalism in the 19th, 20th, and 21st centuries. Approximately 175 full or excerpted documents---speeches, legislation, magazine & newspaper articles, essays, memoirs, letters, interviews, novels, songs, and works of art---as well as context overview. International scope.

4000 pages. 9 volumes. Complements the first edition. Highlights the expanding influence of economics in social science research and features new articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences. First edition is also searchable through Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library).

1014 pages. 2 volumes. Defines and explains core concepts, describes the techniques involved in the implementation of qualitative methods, and presents an overview of qualitative approaches to research. Covers every major facet of qualitative methods, including access to research participants, data coding, research ethics, and the role of theory in qualitative research.

307 pages. An insightful commentary about U.S. society and how it has changed--not just in comparison to the past, but also within a global context. Topics include family life, work and employment, housing, wealth and poverty, education, and much more.