Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Census Bureau. 1879-2010.
Provides links to US government sites with statistics and data pertaining to demographics, economics, education, health, international affairs, government, science & technology, and social sciences.
IDEA (Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance) Voter Turnout
The most comprehensive global collection of political participation statistics available. The figures for national presidential and parliamentary elections since 1945 are presented country by country, using both the number of registered voters and voting age population as indicators. Also available are the most recent indicators of literacy and human development, as well as other data and material.
Developed by the Center for Responsive Politics, the site tracks the influence of money on US politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives.
Follow the Money - National Institute on Money in State Politics
Web site and database provided by a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that reveals the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states.
Ongoing Research Projects
The Sentencing Project
A national organization working for a fair and effective criminal justice system by promoting reforms in sentencing law and practice, and alternatives to incarceration. Founded in 1986 to to provide defense lawyers with sentencing advocacy training and to reduce the reliance on incarceration.
The American Presidency Project
The project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. The archives contain 90,144 documents, including the Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States.
Pew Research Center
A nonpartisan "fact tank" that provides information and data on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. Important projects include:
* The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press
* Pew Internet & American Life Project
* Pew Hispanic Center
* Pew Global Attitudes Project
* Social & Demographic Trends
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Formerly the American Religion Data Archive, ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Includes American and international collections and features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Correlates of War
This project seeks to collect, disseminate, and foster the "use of accurate and reliable quantitative data in international relations." The project commits to "standard scientific principles of replication, data reliability, documentation, review, and the transparency of data collection procedures." The project promotes "free public release of data sets to the research community," the release of data in a timely manner after data collection is completed, and provides "version numbers for data set and replication tracking, to provide appropriate dataset documentation, and to attempt to update, document, and distribute follow-on versions of datasets where possible."
Provides public access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. View datasets by agency, or search by keyword or category.
Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Data Sets
Access original data sets, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Supports and sponsors educational activities and research.
A large central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. Includes a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, and OECD. A commercial site with an easy user interface that gets researchers quickly to informative data.
World Bank Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.