Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
Discover: Find articles, books, and more...
Gale eBooks
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology
GreenFILE
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowGreenFILE is a free research database covering all aspects of human environmental impact. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Content Includes 15,300 open-access full-text records.
Subjects Include Global climate change, Green building, Pollution, Sustainable agriculture, Renewable energy, and Recycling.
Encyclopedia of Earth
This online, open-source encyclopedia is a collaborative effort of organizations and agencies around the world:
Environmental Encyclopedias
Here are a few encyclopedias included in the Gale eBooks (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) collection:
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy by Publication Date: 20081127 pages. 2 volumes. Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Water Politics and the Environment in the United States by Publication Date: 2011510 pages. Provides an overview of approximately 250 projects, legislation, legal cases, people, and organizations that have shaped the development of waterways in the United States over the past 150 years.
Environmental Encyclopedia. 4th edition. by Publication Date: 20111,967 pages. 2 volumes. Provides in-depth, worldwide coverage of environmental issues. Each article is written in a nontechnical style and provides current status, analysis, and suggested solutions whenever possible.
More starting points
Government agencies and other organizations also have good basic topic pages that can help form a strong foundation for your research. Here are some of them:
- EPA: Environmental TopicsCovers such topics as climate change, green living, water, waste management, air quality and environmental health
- EnergySaversinformation for consumers from the Dept. of Energy
- National Park Service: Explore NatureCovers wildlife, air quality, water, and general environmental issues.
- Nature Conservancy: Prioritiesincludes rainforests and coral reefs, as well as broad environmental topics such as climate change
- United Nations: Environment Programmeportal for UN documents and other information on basic environmental issues
- Wilderness Society: Key Issuesincludes recreation-related issues as well as energy, climate change and general conservation
Environmental Organizations
Many organizations collect and compile environmental information, and some even conduct their own research. When using organizational websites for research, be sure to be aware of potential sources of bias or agendas that they might be pushing. Look at the "Evaluate" tab in this LibGuide for tips on how to be sure you're using good sources.
Here are some major organizations:
- Audubon Societyfocused on wildlife conservation but concerned with all aspects of the environment
- Citizens' Climate EducationCitizens’ Climate Education (CCE) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan, grassroots advocacy organization training individuals to educate key stakeholders, policymakers, and the general public about effective solutions to climate change.
- EnviroLinka broadly-based, non-partisan umbrella organization
- EnvironmentalScience.orgresource portal for environmental science education
- European Environmental Agencyreports, maps, and data on environmental issues in Europe
- Friends of the Earth Internationalnetwork of organizations
- Institute of Public & Environmental AffairsChinese organization offering maps, data, and reports on environmental issues.
- International Desalination Associationbasic and detailed information about desalination
- League of Conservation Votersconcerned with the public policy aspects of environmental issues
- Nature Conservancyworks to conserve environmentally sensitive areas
- Nelson Institute for Environmental Studiesinterdisciplinary institute at the University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Sierra Clubincludes links to state and local groups
- World Resources Institutescience-focused information on international environmental and public policy issues
- Yale Program on Climate Change CommunicationThe program conducts surveys and research into the social aspects of the climate change debate and provides educational resources on the issues.
Credits
This guide was originally developed by retired librarian Kathy Amen.