Blume Library: Videos: Home

How to Find Videos in Discover

1. Where are the videos (DVDs) in the library?

Videos are shelved behind the Circulation Counter on the 2nd Floor. Please ask staff members for the video you want.

2. How do I find out if the Blume Library has a video on a particular subject?

Search Discover for a word or phrase. Ex: science fiction.
Limit your search under Source Types to "Videos".
Limit to "Available in the Library Collection" if this option is not already chosen.

3. How do I find out if the Blume Library has a specific video title?

Search Discover by title of the video. Choose "TI Title" from the drop-down box next to your search.
Limit your search under Source Types to "Videos".

4. Can I browse a list of videos the Blume Library owns?

Yes, a list of recently purchased videos is available at the Circulation Counter. The Library Catalog also includes a list of new videos.

5. Are there rules to follow when viewing/using library videos?

The American Library Association provides guidelines for the use of videos owned by libraries. We ask that our library users follow the guidelines of fair use to avoid copyright infringement.

6. Does the Blume Library provide streaming video content?

Yes. You can find more information on the Video: Streaming and DVD page. Be aware that streaming videos generally are not owned by the library and can only be rented by the library for a short period of time for classroom use.

Streaming Video Services

Please be aware that most streaming videos cannot be owned by the library and can only be rented individually for a short period of time for classroom use. Kanopy, Alexander Street Video, and Films on Demand are the vendors most often used by the library for leasing streaming videos for classroom use. Some of the videos from these vendors show in searches of the library catalog and Discover, but not all of them. Please search these databases individually to locate particular titles.

Kanopy - a video streaming solution for colleges with over 26,000 documentaries, feature films and training videos from thousands of producers including Criterion Collection, PBS, HBO, The Video Project, New Day Films, The Great Courses, California Newsreel, Kino Lorber, Media Education Foundation, First Run Features, BBC, and more. Search Kanopy and send a request for a video you need to view if it is not immediately available. More information on using Kanopy is found here

Alexander Street Video - streaming video collection on a variety of academic topics. Search the database directly to locate streaming videos. Some videos are not found in the catalog or Discover.

Films on Demand - streaming videos and clips of plays, speeches, interviews, documentaries, lectures, and more. Search the database directly to locate streaming videos. Some videos are not found in the catalog or Discover.

JustWatch - search for a movie or TV show you want to watch and this site will tell you where it is available for streaming.

British Pathe - British newsreel service of over 80,000 historical newsreel clips

Crackle - free TV, movies and exclusive original videos

Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive - digital movies which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts

Library of Congress Video Collection - thousands of historical and modern videos collected by the Library of Congress

Open Culture - free movies, ebooks, audiobooks, online courses, and language-learning tools.

PBS Video - free video of national and locally produced shows from the Public Broadcasting Service

Popcornflix - free movies and TV shows

Roku Channel - free movies and TV shows

Shout!Factory TV is free, ad-supported video offering full-length TV shows, movies, specials, and original content viewable through desktop computers, mobile, and tablet.

Ted Ed - helps you build a lesson around any Ted Talk or Youtube video

Tubi TV - ad-supported free TV and movies

Vimeo - a more professional version of Youtube with indie films and a variety of other videos, all free to watch.

Vudu - free, ad-supported movies and TV shows. You have to create an account to access Vudu.

Yidio - a search and discovery service for movies and TV shows on the Internet, including both free and paid services that can be filtered to show only free titles

Youtube - freely available original videos uploaded by users, particularly Youtube edu is targeted at educators and @Google Talks with videos of important creators and thinkers