Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
General Texas Information
Here's a list of general government resources provided by various Texas agencies and other reliable sources. For sites covering more specific areas, consult the subject tabs.
Don't forget that the Library has a collection of print Texas government publications, too. However, the distribution system for printed Texas documents no longer exists, and we have cut back our legacy print holdings to a small collection. For most of the documents that we have discarded, however, there are electronic versions linked in the Library's Catalog.
The University of North Texas maintains a digital collection of all documents that would have been distributed through the depository program since its termination.
Handbook of Texas Online
An encyclopedia of Texas history, geography, and culture. It comprises entries on people, places, events, historical themes, institutions, etc.
Index to Texas Magazines & Documents
Covers major statewide magazines and Texas documents of broad interest from 1989 to 2012. Note: Ceased being maintained in 2014.
Portal to Texas History
"The Portal is a gateway to Texas history materials. From prehistory to the present day, you can explore unique collections from Texas libraries, museums, archives, historical societies, genealogical societies, and private family collections."
State Library and Archives Commission
The Library's Catalog
is a good source for Texas government publications—choose the Catalogs & Searches tab
Official Texas government website, with links to e-government services and information from state agencies
Reliable commercial site with useful information and links
Texas Demographic Center
Distributes Census information for Texas and also "disseminates population estimates and projections for Texas, as well as other information".
Texas Government Agencies
Handy listing of links provided by the University of North Texas
Texas Natural Resources Information System: Maps & Data
catalog of downloadable GIS data and maps on a variety of subjects: demographics, natural resources, water, aerial orthoimagery, etc.
Texas Public Interest Research Group (TexPIRG)
Public interest advocacy group with resources dealing with consumer, political, and social issues affecting Texas
Texas State Agency Databases
A listing of publicly searchable databases produced by agencies of the State of Texas. This guide is provided by the American Library Association's Government Documents Round Table (GODORT).
Texas State Agency List
Comprehensive list provided by the Texas State Library & Archives Commission
TRAIL (Texas Records & Information Locator)
Portal to electronic information resources from Texas agencies. Includes a listing for each agency giving contact information and statutory and regulatory information such as rules, enabling authority, etc.
The Texas State Data Center provides information from the Census Bureau (back to 1990) as well as their own estimates and projections. They also provide reference materials such as maps, technical papers, and presentations. Here are some features of particular interest:
, Communication Studies
, Core Curriculum
, Earth & Environmental Science
, English Literature & Language
, Exercise & Sport Science
, Government Information
, Information Literacy
, International Relations
, Political Science & Public Administration
, Women's Studies
This guide was originally developed by retired librarian Kathy Amen.