International Relations Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats, times, and disciplines. **Only use academically sound resources. When in doubt, check with a LIBRARIAN
- GPO Government Publications Catalog This link opens in a new windowThe Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP) is the search tool for print and electronic titles of the National Bibliography of U.S. Government Publications. The National Bibliography is made up of publications from across the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. Government.
In this resource you will find bibliographic information about publications and links to digital publications when available. It is important to remember the CGP is a bibliography, not a document repository. The CGP will only provide links to full-text resources that are the official, authoritative copy of an electronic resource.
Scope:
- Bibliographic information for new and historic Government Publications dating back to the late 1800s
- Over one million bibliographic records have been generated since July 1976
- Over 240,000 links to official full-text electronic titles
- Updated daily - HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Hein's premier online product, with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from the inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals.
Focuses on law journals, case law, and government documents.
Some United States collections include the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and the entire digital Serial Set. Other notable collections are the US state collections, canon law materials, international treaties and agreements, English legal materials, and United Nations legal materials.
Databases by Category: Canadian Content, Case Law, Current Content Journals, International Resources, International Treaties and Agreements, U.K. Content, U.S. Federal Content, U.S. State Content
Learn more about this resource at: https://lib.stmarytx.edu/HeinOnline - Homeland Security Digital Library This link opens in a new windowIncludes homeland security strategy, policy and research documents published by federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, research institutions, universities, and think tanks. To search the full collection from an off-campus location, students and faculty will need individual research accounts, which can be requested directly from HDSL. Be sure to use your St. Mary's University email account.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowJSTOR journals, books, images, and primary sources are integrated into a single, robust platform that uses the latest digital technologies and best practices. JSTOR provides access to over 12 million journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
Full runs of journals from more than 2,800 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. More than 100,000 ebooks from 250+ renowned scholarly publishers, integrated with journals and primary sources on JSTOR. This source also includes open-access articles! - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes local, regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as non-English language news; business information about US and international companies; federal, state, and international legal materials including case law, media transcripts, and more.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. - Project Muse This link opens in a new windowProject MUSE offers open access (OA) books, journals, and digital humanities work from several distinguished university presses, scholarly societies, and independent not-for-profit academic publishers. Through our open-access hosting programs, we are able to offer publishers a platform for their OA content which ensures visibility, discoverability, and wide dissemination. These materials are freely available to libraries and users around the world.
For more than 25 years, Project MUSE has been the trusted and reliable source of complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from many of the world's leading universities and scholarly societies. Currently, Project MUSE has over 800 journals from 125 publishers and offers over 80,000 books from more than 140 presses. MUSE also offers over 4000 open access books on the platform.
NOTE: Limit to "only content I have access to" to find free full-text.
What's a Peer Reviewed Journal Article?
Database Search Tips
- Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
- Break your topic into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
- Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
- While it is possible to find sources on international or local topics, the strength of many of our academic databases is coverage of US national topics.
- Use Boolean connectors like AND, OR, and NOT to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
- In general, avoid using prepositions like "in," "of," and "on."
- Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
- Look at the subject terms or descriptors that are used for articles that appear relevant. Try other searches using those terms.
- In the sciences and social sciences, when starting a journal article search on a topic, consider adding systematic review or meta-analysis, or literature review in your search.
- Consult a librarian or your faculty member for additional related terms.
- Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.
Evaluate Article Relevance & Quality
- Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
- Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
- Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
- How long is the article?
- In which journal or periodical was this article published? What is the journal's or magazine's reputation? How do you know?
- When was the article published? What time period does the research or article cover?
- Who is the author of the article? What are the author's credentials? What qualifies the author as an expert?
- What sources are cited in this article?
- How will this source advance the research project?
- See Evaluate Information for more criteria.
Searching for Articles: Additional Subscription Databases
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowContains full-text newspaper articles and transcripts from around the world.
Journals List
Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?
Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and determine if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.
- Journals List VideoWatch this short video if you want to see an example search with remote access.
Periodical Directories
To browse a list of periodicals in this discipline, or to view journals available through the Law Library, see the following:
- International Relations & Diplomacy Journals and MagazinesThis is a link to periodicals in International Relations to which the Blume Library has access. This is NOT a comprehensive list. Check the link above for specific titles.