Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemistry Research: Other databases

tips on searching databases, finding journals from citations, and using Interlibrary Loan services

Other databases

Here are a few interesting additional databases you might find useful:

  • Chemview (from the Environmental Protection Agency). Provides data from EPA assessments and regulatory actions under the Toxic Substances Control Act.
  • NIST Chemistry WebBook (from the National Institute of Standards and Technology). Provides chemical and physical property data, as well as documentation citations, for chemicals and compounds. A variety of searches are available.
  • ACS Publications (from the American Chemical Society). This database indexes the ACS' journals. Note that there are few full-text articles available to our students here, but citations and abstracts are given.
  • PubChem (from the National Library of Medicine). This database provides information on the biological activity of small molecules, including chemical structure.
  • PubMed (also from the NLM). This is a broader database covering the life sciences, including biochemistry.

checkSince many chemical processes and products have commercial applications, you might also want to check in with Business Source Complete, a comprehensive business database.

Subject Guide

Jill Crane's picture
Jill Crane
Book an appointment with St. Mary's University
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608