On this page
Social Science information from governments
Government agencies are major sources of information related to society, and, by extension, to the social sciences. Laws, regulations, baseline studies, technical papers, consumer information—all these kinds of resources, and more, are produced by governments at all levels. In particular, the federal and state governments are prolific producers of statistics which can be valuable in social science research.
This page provides links to guides and compilations giving more details to help in finding government information, to major government agencies dealing with social sciences-related issues, and links to government statistical resources.
- Texas.govOfficial Texas government website, with links to e-government services and information from state agencies
For guidance in finding and using government information, check out the resources on the Library's main government information page.
These pages are particularly useful for social sciences-related research (primarily national government sources):
- Census Research. Guide to online and Blume Library resources
- Congress, Legislation, etc. Describes Library holdings and major internet sources dealing with the operations of Congress, legislation, and regulation at the federal level
- Government Information in the Study of History. Describes major print and online resources
- Government Databases. Compilations of government-provided databases, almost all free to use. In particular, look at the Science/Technology tab.
- State Government Information Index. Listing of libraries in the various states with good collections of links to their states' government web pages
There are separate LibGuides for Texas government sources and local governments.
Major agencies related to the social sciences
Many government agencies produce information useful in social sciences research. Here are links to some of the major agencies and sub-agencies in the U.S. and Texas government structures:
Federal Agencies
- Administration for Community Living (ACL) The ACL "advocates across the federal government for older adults, people with disabilities, and families and caregivers; funds services and supports provided by primarily by states and networks of community-based; and invests in training, education, research and innovation."
- Census Data: Data.Census.GovPortal to Census data from 2000 to the present. It replaces American FactFinder.
- National Center for Education StatisticsCollects and analyzes data related to education in the US and the world. Data at elementary, secondary, and postsecondary levels.
Texas Agencies 
US Economic Statistics
Key Resources
- Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA)US agency that publishes economic statistics on Gross Domestic Product (GDP), consumer spending, international balance of payments and international trade, and regional and state data.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)BLS covers inflation & prices, pay & benefits, employment/unemployment, workplace injuries, spending & time use, and productivity. Well-know datasets include the Consumer Price Index and Producer Price Index. Also includes some regional and international data.
- EDGAR (SEC)EDGAR is the US Security and Exchange Commission's database of company registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms. The Quick EDGAR Tutorial gives users an overview of the database contents. Investments researchers will want to use the guide to Researching Public Companies Through EDGAR to get a detailed understanding of how to use EDGAR filings to analyze a company. EDGAR also includes filings on mutual funds and variable insurance products.
Federal Reserve
- Federal Reserve SystemMain page of the Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System. Includes news, monetary policy, regulation, economic research, data, and more.
- ALFRED (Federal Reserve)"retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history....Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time." By the St. Louis Fed.
- Beige Book Archive (Federal Reserve)1970 -present. The “Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions by Federal Reserve District,” report is published 8 times per year. The Beige Book summarizes anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources.
- Fed in Print (Federal Reserve)Catalog of Federal Reserve publications that is constantly being expanded; includes some historical reports.
- FRASER (Federal Reserve)Digital library and database of US economic, financial, and banking. Dates from 1921 to the present (some older works included). "Many Federal Reserve Banks also produce statistical data publications covering their district, relevant markets, or the nation."
- FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data)User can view and edit graphs, see original data sources, view data about the data, download data, etc. FRED "contains and displays the most recent revision...of the data available."
Other Resources
- Circulars (OMB)"Instructions or information issued by the Office of Management and Budget to Federal agencies. These are expected to have a continuing effect of two years or more. "
- Consumer ComplaintsComplaints database by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB).
- Dataweb (USITC)US imports, exports, trade balance, tariffs, and other data from the US International Trade Commission.
- Economic Indicators1995-present. Monthly publication is prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee providing economic information on gross domestic product, income, employment, international statistics, etc..Economic Indicators back to 1948 are made available through FRASER.
- Export.govAccess to the US Department of Commerce's Market Research Library which includes Country Commercial Guides, Market Research Reports, and Best Market Reports as well as import/export statistics, information on trade regulations, standards, and certification requirements.
- FedBizOppsSearch for federal procurement opportunities.
- Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC)statistical and other kinds of information on banks and banking
- Investment Advisor Public Disclosure (SEC)Information from Form ADV filed by investment advisor firms with the SEC and/or the states.The forms cover the firms' operations, their key personnel and any disciplinary action connected with the firm or personnel.
- IRS Forms, Instructions, and Publications SearchDatabases of forms. Page includes links to popular forms, etc.
- National Credit Union Administration (NUCA)Reports on credit unions nationwide, plus reference information on laws, rulings, etc.
- National Labor Relations BoardSearchable database of cases, decisions, weekly summaries, etc.
- TradeStats Expressinternational trade data from the International Trade Administration
- US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)Search interfaces and search tips for finding patents and trademarks.
- Wage Determinations Online"provides a single location for federal contracting officers to use in obtaining appropriate Service Contract Act (SCA) and Davis-Bacon Act (DBA) wage determinations (WDs) for each official contract action."
General US Statistics Sources
You can also find valuable data sources in our Government Databases LibGuide.
- Census.govMain portal website for the US Census Bureau. Browse by topic, search for data, explore publications and working papers, etc.
- Census Data: Data.Census.GovPortal to Census data from 2000 to the present. It replaces American FactFinder.
- Longitudinal Employer-Household DynamicsUS Census data, coupled with state data, on employment.
Topics include commuting, employment density, employment by sex, age, and industry, employee turnover, etc. Features the On the Map dynamic mapping tool.
For more information on using Census data, see our Census LibGuides.
More Resources:
- Local area Census informationA handy site that makes finding basic Census information for an individual County a snap.
- Geoplatform.govportal to geographic and data resources of the US government
- Data.govProvides public access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. View datasets by agency, or search by keyword or category.
- FASTATS A-Zcovers topics related to public health