Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
A compendium of tables that provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence (i.e., admitted as immigrants or became legal permanent residents), were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis (e.g., tourists, students, or workers), applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized. The Yearbook also presents data on immigration law enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and prosecutions.
Department of Homeland Security - Office of Immigration Statistics
Annual reports on immigrants by legal status and quantitative studies and research on immigration.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Census Bureau. 1879-2010.
Provides links to US government sites with statistics and data pertaining to demographics, economics, education, health, international affairs, government, science & technology, and social sciences.
More Map Resources
Thank you to Jennifer Hanson at Primary Source for recommending many of these resources.
Use interactive tools to easily create and share maps, presentations and tables, or compare and analyse data and discover amazing facts. Includes 220 years of demographic data, 25,000 maps, hundreds of profile reports, 40 billion data elements and 335,000 variables. Access current and historical demographic data, create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily.
Migration Policy Institute Datahub
Provides access to international and US migration data and maps.
Modern Language Assocation (MLA) Language Map
Uses data from the US Census 2000 to display the locations and numbers of speakers of thirty languages and three groups of less commonly spoken languages in the United States.
A collection of nearly 700 world maps, where territories are re-sized on each map according to the subject of interest.
See how foreign-born groups settled across the United States from 1880-2000. Compiled by Matthew Bloch and Robert Gebeloff of the New York Times.
Where U.S. Workers Come From
Foreign-born workers by occupation or country of origin:
Compiled by Matthew Bloch, Shan Carter, and Robert Gebeloff of the New York Times
Diversity in the Classroom
Demographic changes in more than 17,000 school districts across the nation
By Robert Gebeloff, Tyson Evans and Andrei Scheinkman of the New York Times
Provides public access to datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. View datasets by agency, or search by keyword or category.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Supports and sponsors educational activities and research.
A large central data source and a handy way to graphically compare nations. Includes a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, and OECD. A commercial site with an easy user interface that gets researchers quickly to informative data.
Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA)
Formerly the American Religion Data Archive, ARDA strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. Includes American and international collections and features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Housing & Urban Development (HUD) Data Sets
Access original data sets, including the American Housing Survey, HUD median family income limits, as well as microdata from research initiatives on topics such as housing discrimination, the HUD-insured multifamily housing stock, and the public housing population.
World Bank Data
The World Bank provides free and open access to a comprehensive set of data about development in countries around the globe, together with other datasets cited in the data catalog.