Professor & Reference/Instruction Librarian
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
Discover
In-Class Library Activity - Fall 2023
Open a Word Document – Type EN 6301 at the top
Respond to the following prompts on your document:
1. Your name:
2. What is the topic of your paper?
3. Go to the Discover box. Type one or two words or phrases to find articles about your topic. What did you type?
4. Press "Search." Choose a full-text item that you might consider using to support your paper. Click on “All filters” near the top of the screen and check “Peer reviewed.” Click on the title of one of the items that interests you to bring up the full record for that item. At the top of the record, click on the large quotation mark icon (“). Choose the APA 7th Edition citation. Copy and paste it in your document.
5. What interests you about this article?
6. Select a different article from your list of results. At the top of the record, click on the large quotation mark icon (“). Choose the APA 7th Edition citation. Copy and paste it in your document.
7. What interests you about this article?
Search the Oxford English Dictionary
- Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new windowThe Oxford English Dictionary (OED) is widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
As a historical dictionary, the OED is very different from dictionaries of current English, in which the focus is on present-day meanings. You’ll still find present-day meanings in the OED, but you’ll also find the history of individual words, and of the language—traced through 3 million quotations, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
The OED started life more than 150 years ago. Today, the dictionary is in the process of its first major revision. Updates revise and extend the OED at regular intervals, each time subtly adjusting our image of the English language.
Gale eBooks
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology
Oxford Reference
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, a general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Note: Limited titles in our subscription.
Fun Stuff
- Visuwords™ Online Graphical DictionaryLook up words to find their associations with other words and concepts. Produce diagrams that look like a neural net. Learn how words associate.