Recommended Sites
- allAfricaallAfrica provides aggregated content from various news sources on the African content.
- ConstituteRead, search, and compare 194 constitutions from nations around the world. Developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project at the University of Texas at Austin.
- Human Rights Documentation Initiative"The UT Libraries' Human Rights Documentation Initiative (HRDI) is committed to the long-term preservation of fragile and vulnerable records of human rights struggles worldwide, the promotion and secure usage of human rights archival materials, and the advancement of human rights research and advocacy around the world."
- International Crisis Group"The International Crisis Group is an independent, non-profit, non-governmental organisation committed to preventing and resolving deadly conflict." It provides international commentaries, alerts, blogs, speeches, etc.
- International Relations DatabasesLibrary subscription databases pertaining to the field of International Relations.
- Transparency InternationalWatchdog agency that monitors global corruption through such reports as the Global Corruption Barometer, Global Corruptions Report, Bribe Payers Index, etc.
- United Nations Human Rights CouncilThe United Nations Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights "represents the world's commitment to universal ideals of human dignity."
- Uppsala Conflict Data ProgramMaintained by Sweden's Uppsala University, the database monitors and describes conflict in all regions of the world.
Find Dissertations and Theses Elsewhere
Start with these databases when searching for dissertations and theses written at other universities. You can request dissertations using Interlibrary Loan.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Open Dissertations makes electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) more accessible to researchers worldwide. The free portal is designed to benefit universities and their students and make ETDs more discoverable.
Content Includes:
1,500,000 electronic theses and dissertations
320 worldwide universities that have loaded their dissertations to date - Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new windowLocate open access dissertations and theses free of charge. Full text.
- Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new windowOATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open-access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1000 colleges, universities, and research institutions. OATD currently indexes 2,960,883 theses and dissertations.
- Dissertation Express This link opens in a new windowDissertation Express is the fastest and least expensive way to obtain the dissertation(s) you would like to order. Dissertations ordered through Dissertation Express are available in PDF or bound copy formats. Dissertations are shipped by courier delivery to your home, school, or office. Select from over two million titles available from ProQuest. If you are looking for a known item to see if we have it available, you can try finding it on Dissertation Express. The site can be searched by keywords, author name, title, or publication number.
Discipline-Specific
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the bibliography directs researchers to more than 3 million citations from journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, scholarly websites, editions, and translations published from the late 19th century to the present.
MLA International Bibliography covers a broad range of humanities subjects, including world languages and literature, linguistics, dramatic arts, film, folklore, rhetoric and writing studies, the teaching of language, and the history of publishing. Its expansive scope also makes it an excellent resource for research in history, philosophy, communications, and cross-disciplinary subjects such as gender studies and area studies.
Content Includes:
3,100,000 records
25,000 indexed journals and book series
2,000 book publishers - PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowThis ever-expanding collection of behavioral and social science research, dissertations, and scholarly literature abstracts offer a broad view of the field. With relevance to a host of related disciplines, including neuroscience, business, nursing, law, and education. APA PsycInfo delivers the peer-reviewed content and abstracts students and researchers need and does so with remarkable precision and a dedication to scholarly and scientific excellence.
Focused on the interdisciplinary aspects of worldwide behavioral and social science research and literature, APA PsycInfo is a resource for locating scholarly research findings in psychology and related fields across a host of academic disciplines.
Features include:
Coverage dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries, with extensive coverage from the 1800s to the present
Authored and edited books and book chapters
Dissertations selected from Dissertation Abstracts International (Sections A and B)
Publications from more than 50 countries
Journals published in 29 languages