Professor & Instruction & Research Librarian Coordinator
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
1. Discover and your discipline-specific databases are the best places find articles and other sources for your projects.
- Discover This link opens in a new window Blume Library's primary search tool. This robust feature helps scholars find scholarly journals and articles, books, eBooks, music, videos, government information, and more. Input the keywords of your research to generate a results list full of articles and items covering the topic. Use boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) and other limiters to focus a search or modify a results list. This tool searches most of the Blume Library holdings including the Library Catalog of physical items and eResources. Learn more about this powerful resource: DISCOVER Reach out to a Blume Librarian for research assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE
- A-Z Databases Blume Library databases. May be sorted by subject.
2. The Blume Library has a rich collection of books and eBooks for your research needs.
- EBSCO eBooks This link opens in a new window This multidisciplinary collection includes more than 231,000 e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishers and university presses. Create a free account using your student information and download or read eBooks in your browser or eReader. Gain Access to E-books Across Many Subjects Including: Business and economics, Education, Language arts and disciplines, Political science, Religion, Literary criticism, Medical, Social science, Philosophy, Technology and Engineering, World History Check out the eBook Guide for more information.
- Using eBooks at the Blume LibraryHow to find eBooks, read them online, and download eBooks to a computer or tablet.
3. Connect with your subject librarian for personal help and support.
- Research Help pagesGuides to doing research on a variety of topics.
4. Use Google Scholar to determine journal impact, citation searching, and more.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowGoogle Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats, times, and disciplines. **Only use academically sound resources. When in doubt, check with a LIBRARIAN
- Google Scholar Metrics Google Scholar Metrics provide an easy way for authors to quickly gauge the visibility and influence of recent articles in scholarly publications. This database is freely available.
- Google Scholar Settings - Library LinksSet up Google Scholar to show full-text results offered by the Blume Library.
- Google for ScholarsBlume Library workshop to learn how to use and evaluate sources found with Google's products.
5. Use the Journals List search to determine which academic journals, magazines, and newspapers are available.
- Journals List Looking for a specific journal? Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, newspaper, or magazine and tell if the library offers online access or print access to the publication.
6. You can get access to articles, eBooks, videos, and more from off-campus.
7. Extend your access beyond the Blume Library.
- Borrow from other libraries You can borrow articles and books from other libraries if we do not own the item you need.
8. Make research management easy. Use Zotero to manage your research and citations.
- Zotero guide Blume Library guide describes the free Zotero citation management program with instructions on how to install and use Zotero to easily manage and cite sources.
9. Find the right study space.
10. Visit the library and associated services.
- Academic Media Center (AMC) Student-oriented center offering multimedia project assistance. Also offers loans of media equipment upon taking various certification courses. Helps students design and print posters for the annual Undergraduate Research Symposium held each Spring.
- Academic Technology Services Resources for teaching and learning through today's technology.
- Learning Assistance Center Center for the Office of Academic Advising and the Writing and Tutoring Center. The RSC is designed to help build community by offering professional advising, building student interaction, and supporting student academic attainment including writing and tutoring.