Skip to main content

Marianist Resources: Archives

The Society of Mary founded St. Mary's University in 1852. This guide will help you learn more about the Marianists.

Mission

The goal of the Marianist Archives, Southwest, is to provide the best regional historical resources to members of the Society of Mary, scholars, and all interested in the Society of Mary, the St. Louis Province, its works and spirit.

The mission of the Marianist Archives, Southwest, is to collect, preserve, and make available for research, materials related to the St. Louis Province of the Society of Mary, as well as the Society in general.

History

The Society of Mary is a Roman Catholic community which was founded in France in 1817 by Blessed William Joseph Chaminade, a priest who lived during the French Revolution. Members of the Society of Mary worked in France and eventually arrived in the US in 1848 in Ohio. The first foundation in Texas was established in 1852 in San Antonio.

The Marianist Archives, Southwest, has existed from the beginning of the St. Louis Province in 1908 as an adjunct of the Provincial Administration. It was located first in Clayton, MO then in Kirkwood, MO, moved briefly to Glencoe, MO in St. Louis county, and finally to San Antonio, TX in 1970.

The archives, located on the St. Mary's campus in Treadaway Hall,  is in an area that formerly housed the student brothers' library of the Society of Mary.

Chaminade Display

Holdings

The collection includes materials from individual members of the Society of Mary, St. Louis Province, institutional records from the province, principally schools, records from house and organizations associated with the province, and a limited number of records from the international Society of Mary and from other provinces.

These records include province houses in the central part of the United States: Illinois, Missouri, Texas, Oklahoma, Kansas, Iowa, Colorado, Wisconsin, and several foreign countries: Peru and Canada, among others.

Its strengths are the records from the early foundations in San Antonio and St. Louis, as well as publications by members in the field of spirituality, education, and history.

Using the Archives

The Marianist Archives, Southwest, is open to the general public only on a limited basis and by appointment only. Materials do not circulate but are available for use on site.

All processed material, with certain restrictions, is available to any qualified researcher. Unprocessed material is available only to the originating office or individual, but specific requests may be accommodated. Reproduction of materials and access is at the discretion of the archivist.

Marianist ARchives Collection

Reference Services

The Marianist Archives, Southwest, is a member of the San Antonio Regional Archivists [SARA] and the Catholic Archives of Texas. General information about its collection is available on-line through these organizations. The staff has membership in SSA and the Texas Catholic Historical Society. The staff responds to requests by phone, mail, e-mail, or fax.

By mail, the address is:

     Marianist Archives
     520 Fordham Avenue
     San Antonio, TX 78228

Phone: 210-431-5075
Fax: 210-431-8011
Bro. Earl Leistikow, SM, Archivist

Bro. Earl Leistikow