Skip to main content

CR 3327 - Mediation Techniques: Journal Articles

tips on searching for books, journal articles, government publications, and ebooks plus links to academic and other organizations in the field

Journal Databases

signpost

Academic Search Complete is a good, general database that covers all subjects and includes a substantial number of full-text articles directly attached to their citations in the database.

Psychological journals have a good deal of material on mediation, particularly as it pertains to counseling and social psychology. If this is the focus of your specific topic, you might want to search our Psychology Databases.

Search Terms

For tips on which terms to use when searching, check out the box at the bottom of this page.

Remote Access

You can access these databases from off-campus. For instructions, see this Research Guide.

Search Academic Search Complete

Use the Academic Search Complete search box to find articles from the library's largest full-text article database.

Academic Search Complete
Limit Your Results

Search Psychology Databases

Find articles from the library's EBSCO databases: PsycInfo, PsycARTICLES, and the Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection.

Psychology Databases
Limit Your Results

When you have a journal citation

clock

If you have a citation for an article, obtained through a database or from another source, such as a bibliography or list of references, you can determine whether we have access to the journal through our Journals List. Choose that tab in the box below.

Meta Search Box

Discover at the Blume Library logo

Use Discover to search almost everything.

Advanced Search | What is Discover?

Looking for a specific journal, magazine, or newspaper?

Use Journals List to search for the title of a journal, magazines, or newspaper and tell if the library offers online access or print access to that publication.

Search: Journals List

Find books, eBooks, movies, music, government information, and more in the Library Catalog.



My Library AccountAdvanced Search | Course Reserves | Mobile Catalog | WorldCat | FirstSearch

Find librarian-created research tips, information about library services, and more on the Blume Library website.

You can browse course information guides and topic guide under the Research Help tab on the Blume Library homepage.

Loading

Database Search Tips

  • Consider what type of information you need and where you might find it.
  • Break your topic into key concepts and identify terms for each concept. Start with fewer words. Less yields more.
  • Don't be too narrow in your search, especially initially.
  • Use Boolean connectors like andorand not to connect keywords. Many databases search the words as a phrase otherwise.
  • In general, avoid using prepositions like "in," "of," and "on."
  • Truncation characters such as an * (asterisk) can expand your search by retrieving various forms of a word, e.g., comput* retrieves computer, computers, computing, computation, etc.
  • Look at the subject terms or descriptors that are used for articles that appear relevant. Try other searches using those terms.
  • Consult a librarian or your faculty member for additional related terms.
  • Think about which individuals or groups of people or organizations are associated with your topic. These might be additional terms to search.

Evaluate Article Relevance & Quality

  • Look at subject terms applied to relevant articles. Did you find additional articles by searching these subject headings?
  • Which terms or search strategies yielded the best results?
  • Look at the abstract. Are there additional keyword terms you might search?
  • How long is the article?
  • In which journal or periodical was this article published? What is the journal's or magazine's reputation? How do you know?
  • When was the article published? What time period does the research or article cover?
  • Who is the author of the article? What are the author's credentials? What qualifies the author as an expert?
  • What sources are cited in this article?
  • How will this source advance the research project?
  • See Evaluate Information for more criteria.

Search Term tips

scalesSimply entering the word "mediation" might produce too many results to be useful. For better results you can—

  • add another concept to "mediation". For example—mediation AND techniques, justice, victim, offender, conciliation, etc.—or a geographical term (e.g., Africa).
  • use a different word or phrase, such as "Alternative Dispute Resolution," "Restorative Justice," Arbitration, etc.
  • Remember to use quote marks around phrases for better results.