Skip to Main Content

Women's History Month

library and online resources for research on women's history, feminism, women's studies, and other related topics. Highlights St. Mary's University annual programming for Women's History Month.

A Brief History of the Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship

Sr. Grace Walle, F.M.I., Th.D., provides a brief history about the Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship.

Description of the Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship

The Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship, awarded to one or more non-traditional students, commemorates the life and works of Alice Franzke, Ph.D., a professor in the Sociology Department at St. Mary’s University from 1982 until 1989.  Dr. Franzke was an inspirational model of feminist activism and civic engagement who embodied a commitment to justice and peace.      


- Must be at least 25 years of age

- Must be an undergraduate student

- Must demonstrate some involvement in one of the following: St. Mary’s University community, church or civic organizations

- Must be currently enrolled for at least 9 semester hours

- A GPA of 3.0 for priority consideration

- One (1) recommendation from a faculty member


The Office of Financial Assistance reserves the right to award students based on various criteria including, but not limited to, academic excellence, financial need, etc.  If you have any questions about this award or the selection process, please contact the Office of Financial Assistance at (210) 436-3141 or at

Prior Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Recipients

For video coverage, see the Franzke Award page. Previous Alice Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Recipients:

2024: Megan Davis and Kenia Rodriguez

2023: Victoria Heffner and Caylen Lucio

2022: Kimberly Rubio and Ezequiel Hernandez

2021: Nicole Bongiorno and Katherine L. Muniz

2020: Roberson Maria Lubin, Jessica Marquez-Munos, and Luisa Arumi Ortiz

2019: Ian Bryan and Luisa Ortiz

2018: Amanda Rodriguez and Alex Valdez

2017: Juana "Janie" Contreras and Christina Lopez

2016: Kathy Samms

2021 Alice Wright Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Recipients

2021 Alice Franzke Non-Traditional Student Scholarship Awards: Nicole Bongiorno and Katherine L. Muniz