Librarian
1 Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228
Latin America's Economic Critique
Latin America’s economic challenges for 2023 - Article from The Banker about challenges that could provide potential project ideas
10 Facts About Economic Development in Central America - Blog post from The Borgen Project about development potential in Central America
Why Latin America Lost at Globalization and How It Can Win Now - Council on Foreign Relations article published in American Quarterly
Latin America Economic Outlook - Article from Dolittle Insights which includes facts, figures, statistics
The World Bank - CDP for Latin America and the Caribbean
10 Most Advanced Countries in South America - Article from Insider Monkey from December 27, 2022
Growth, Employment, and Poverty in Latin America - Open Access ebook by Guillermo Cruces, Gary S. Fields, David Jaume, and Mariana Viollaz which examines the links between economic growth, changing employment conditions, and the reduction of poverty in Latin America in the 2000s.
Global Information
The World Report - Reports from 2022 from the Human Rights Watch
American Economic Association - Data Sources Links to data from the US government, regional data, world, and non-governmental sites. Includes links to additional reputable data sources.
The Economist - Reports on and offers analysis of international news, world politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Includes 16 news categories, offering summaries on politics and business; short articles on world leaders, science, technology, finance, and economics; surveys of countries and regions; obituaries; and reviews of literature and the arts. The back of each issue includes handy economic, financial, and market indicators.
Gale Business Entrepreneurship - Database with business resources about start-ups, markets, marketing, development, and financial health
Gale Insight Global - Detailed company and industry profiles including SWOT reports, market share reports, and financial reports. Thousands of company histories and industry essays from Gale's core business collection. Case studies, scholarly journals, and business news for deep research coverage of global economies.
Heritage.org 2023 Index of Economic Freedom - Global data on economics, searchable by country. Users can track over two decades of the advancement in economic freedom, prosperity, and opportunity and promote these ideas in their homes, schools, and communities. The Index covers 12 freedoms – from property rights to financial freedom – in 184 countries.
UN Chronicle - The UN Chronicle, produced by the United Nations Department of Global Communications, has served as the Organization’s flagship magazine since 1946, providing authoritative information and debate on the activities of the larger United Nations system. The magazine features authoritative articles from a wide range of international experts and stakeholders.
Peterson Institute for International Economics Latin America and the Caribbean - The Peterson Institute for International Economics (PIIE) is an independent nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization dedicated to strengthening prosperity and human welfare in the global economy through expert analysis and practical policy solutions.
Inter-American Development Bank - Through financial and technical support for countries working to reduce poverty and inequality, we help improve health and education and advance infrastructure. Our aim is to achieve development in a sustainable, climate-friendly way. The IDB prioritizes social inclusion and equality; productivity and innovation; and regional economic integration in its development work across Latin America and the Caribbean. In doing so, it addresses the cross-cutting issues of gender equality and diversity; climate change and environmental sustainability; and institutional capacity and the rule of law.
Human Rights Watch - Human rights organization that monitors, defends and advocates for human rights in around 100 countries around the world
UN Sustainable Development Goals- 17 Goals to Transform Our World. The Sustainable Development Goals are a call for action by all countries – poor, rich, and middle-income – to promote prosperity while protecting the planet. They recognize that ending poverty must go hand-in-hand with strategies that build economic growth and address a range of social needs including education, health, social protection, and job opportunities, while tackling climate change and environmental protection.
Pan American Health Organization - Regional information from the World Health Organization focusing on the Americas.
International Monetary Fund - The IMF works to achieve sustainable growth and prosperity for all of its 190 member countries. It does so by supporting economic policies that promote financial stability and monetary cooperation, which are essential to increase productivity, job creation, and economic well-being. This website is linked to the IMF which has country-specific data, news, and research.
United Nations Climate Change - Website about the impacts of climate change as reported from the United Nations.
OECDiLibrary - OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers, podcasts and statistics and is the knowledge base of OECD's analysis and data.
International Sources
- UNdata: Advanced SearchAdvanced search to the UNdata portal that allow users to search by keyword, select statistical areas, sources, and years.
- IMF DataInternational Monetary Fund (IMF) portal to data and statistical reports. Data includes International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments (BOPS), Direction of Trade (DOTS), and more. This source also includes access to publications and reports.
- DataBank (World Bank)The World Bank's DataBank "is an analysis and visualisation tool that contains collections of time series data on a variety of topics." You can create your own queries; generate tables, charts, and maps; and save, embed, and download data. Includes a large number of sources but not every data source by the World Bank. Includes flagship report: World Development Indicators
- Data Catalog (World Bank)Access to all the World Bank's economic, social, population, and development data. The Data Catalog link lists all the available datasets. The By Country tool allows users to view and download data for each country by topic for multiple years. Includes all time series, microdata, and geospatial data.
- AIDDATAOffers data on development assistance worldwide. The Geoquery tool allows use to retrieve conflict, aid, economic, health and other data and download in a variety of fomat.
- EuroStatData about EU member countries, candidate countries, and the EFTA from the statistical office of the European Union. Statistics from 9 "themes" including general/regional, economy/finance, population/social conditions, industry/trade, agriculture/fisheries, external trade, transport, environment/energy, and science/technology.
- ILOSTATThe Internal Labour Organization's "central statistics database ... the primary source for cross-country statistics on the labour market. The database contains over 100 indicators covering more than 230 countries and economies."
- International Macroeconomic Data Set"data from 1969 through 2020 for real (adjusted for inflation) gross domestic product (GDP), population, real exchange rates, and other variables for the 190 countries and 34 regions that are most important for U.S. agricultural trade."
- International Programs (US Census)US Census Bureau listing of international groups who compile data and statistics. Also lists national statistical agencies.
- International Trade Administration - Data & AnalysisReports, analysis, and data on key industry sectors, imports, exports, and trade data. Regional, US, and international data.
- OECD DataOECD portal to data on a variety of topics. Includes data for OECD member countries. Topics include agriculture, development, economy, education, energy, environment, government, health, technology, and jobs.
- Penn World TablesFrom AEA, "PWT offers national income accounts converted to international prices, allowing for meaningful international and historical comparisons."
- UN ComtradeThe UN's Commodity Trade Statistics Database offers detailed imports and exports statistics reported by statistical authorities of close to 200 countries or areas. It includes annual trade statistics from 1962 to the most recent year.
- World Health Organization (WHO)The leading authority on health information/matters and health research within the United Nations system. Provides access to information, research and statistics on global health issues and topics.
- World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)"Allows users to access and retrieve information on trade and tariffs." Produced in collaboration with The World Bank, the UN, and others.
- World Trade Organization (WTO) Data"The WTO Data portal contains statistical indicators related to WTO issues. Available time series cover merchandise trade and trade in services statistics, market access indicators (bound, applied & preferential tariffs), non-tariff information as well as other indicators."