Digital Literacy and Reference Librarian
Louis J. Blume Library
One Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
Why use encyclopedias? Background information and initial sources
Encyclopedias offer you a quick way to become familiar with a topic, the key people and places involved in an historic moment, and the time frame of your topic. These sources will help you find a topic and/or narrow your focus.
Typically, encyclopedia articles are written by experts (often listing the author) and can include a selected list of key secondary and primary works on the subject.
Subject-specific encyclopedia articles also list key books and articles on a topic and related sources. Encyclopedias appear in Discover and encyclopedia databases.
Take a look at one or two sources to find the most relevant and timely encyclopedia articles on your topic.
Encyclopedias
- Gale eBooks: General Reference Collection This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning, hassle-free eBook experience—anytime, anywhere, and on any device. Gale’s eBook platform provides comprehensive support from many of today’s top publishers.
Collections include titles on:
Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, General Reference, History, Information and Publishing, Law, LCO, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, SATA, Science, Social Science, Technology - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowOxford Reference is the premier online reference product, spanning 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions, and Encyclopedias.
As you browse through Oxford Reference, you may find results that range from short-entry, a general reference to more in-depth articles on specialized subjects.
Note: Limited titles in our subscription.
Discover encyclopedia search example
Discover: Locating Subject Encyclopedias
Discover is a great place to search for encyclopedias, both in print in the Blume Library and also as online eBooks.
Tips to locate encyclopedia entries in Discover:
- 1st line - type in term "encyclopedias" on the 1st line and drop-down to Subject
- 2nd line - type in a word from your topic (name, place, event, etc.)
- Search for all results.
- Limit your search to Books in the left navigation window
- Discover This link opens in a new window Blume Library's primary search tool. This robust feature helps scholars find scholarly journals and articles, books, eBooks, music, videos, government information, and more. Input the keywords of your research to generate a results list full of articles and items covering the topic. Use boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) and other limiters to focus a search or modify a results list. This tool searches most of the Blume Library holdings including the Library Catalog of physical items and eResources. Learn more about this powerful resource: DISCOVER Reach out to a Blume Librarian for research assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE
This is an image showing how to search for encyclopedia entries in Discover.
