Digital Literacy and Reference Librarian
Louis J. Blume Library
One Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
Foreign Relations of the United States
Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) is the official historical record of U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and made available in this set. FRUS is produced by the U.S. State Department's Office of this Historian. Types of documents in FRUS include correspondence, text of treaties, Presidential and other messages. FRUS is great trove of primary source material for various topics.
There are several different tools that provide online access to FRUS. There are gaps in various tools be sure to check the dates of coverage with each search.
The Blume Library and Law Library have some copies in print. See the Library Catalog to find these items.
Best Bet
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) at University of Wisconsin Madison LibrariesSearchable online collection of Foreign Relations of the U.S (FRUS) from 1861-1960
Other FRUS Sources
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) - Office of the HistorianOnline collection of FRUS back to the Truman Administration by the Department of State. Searchable.
- LLMC Digital (Law Library Microfiche Consortium) This link opens in a new windowSearchable online access to government and legal literature. LLMC Digital preserves global legal and government content at risk due to time and other elements by migrating print and microform into contemporary media. The addition of page tagging, quality control, and citations provided by seasoned experts enhances research among the substantial, varied collection of materials. Vital metadata by law librarian professionals creates discoverable content across all titles, including manuscripts, broadsides, various languages, and other challenges.
As of January 2023, LLMC-Digital offers the following:
Online Titles - 28,667
Online Volumes - 153,392
Online Images - 92,357,845
California Records and Briefs - 420,164
California Records and Briefs Pages - 15,120,861
New York Records and Briefs - 24,313
New York Records and Briefs Pages - 3,846,448
7th Circuit Records and Briefs - 64,978
7th Circuit Records and Briefs Pages - 2,422,583
Serials - 2,212 as of October 2022
- Foreign Relations of the United States (FRUS) - Blume/Law LibraryPrint copies of FRUS available in the library collection.
FRUS History
- History of FRUS - Office of the Historian"explores the evolution of the Foreign Relations of the United States documentary history series from its antecedents in the early republic through the early 21st century implementation of its current mandate, the 1991 Foreign Relations statute."
Govinfo.gov
Some noteworthy categories, that may not be found in Hein Online, include: Executive Agency Publications, Economic Report of the President, and daily Congressional Reports.
- govInfo.govgovinfo is the portal to GPO hosted material. It provides access to U.S. government publications from the three branches of the federal government.
Hein Online
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowHeinOnline is Hein's premier online product, with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from the inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals.
Focuses on law journals, case law, and government documents.
Some United States collections include the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and the entire digital Serial Set. Other notable collections are the US state collections, canon law materials, international treaties and agreements, English legal materials, and United Nations legal materials.
Databases by Category: Canadian Content, Case Law, Current Content Journals, International Resources, International Treaties and Agreements, U.K. Content, U.S. Federal Content, U.S. State Content
Learn more about this resource at: https://lib.stmarytx.edu/HeinOnline