Systems and Discovery Librarian
Louis J. Blume Library
One Camino Santa Maria, San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
Interlibrary Loan
If our library does not have a book or article you need, St. Mary's University students, faculty and staff may order it through Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
Don't forget to ask a librarian for help if you have questions. Students, faculty, and staff of the Law School must contact the Law Library for Interlibrary Loan services.
WorldCat Search Options
WorldCat searches library collections across the United States and the world.
WorldCat Discovery is the public version of WorldCat at https://www.worldcat.org. WorldCat is linked in Google Books, Goodreads, and more.
The Blume Library also subscribes to WorldCat FirstSearch. FirstSearch offers precision searching where you can input many types of limits. For instance, you can sort your results by number of libraries that own the item which can impact the ease or challenge of receiving an interlibrary loan.
- WorldCat Discovery This link opens in a new windowPublic WorldCat search interface. Information on the holdings of the world's libraries.
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new windowSubscription interface. Choose this version if you want to use advanced searching techniques, including sorting by number of libraries who own an item. WorldCat provides information on the holdings of the world's libraries. The public version, designed for most users, is available online at worldcat.org and on the databases list.
Get a Public Library Card
You can get a public library card in San Antonio and in Bexar County if you live in the county, including in the St. Mary's University residence halls. Our local public libraries offer databases, books & eBooks, eAudiobooks, videos, and more.
You should get a local public library card to increase your access to library materials.
- BiblioTech : Bexar County Digital LibraryExtensive collection of eBooks, eAudiobooks, online magazines, databases, etc. Includes Lynda.com. Register online. Available to Bexar County residents.
- San Antonio Public Library - Get a library cardInstructions on getting a library card. Available to all residents of Bexar County. Collections include databases, books & eBooks, eAudiobooks, etc.
TexShare Card
TexShare provides a statewide card program through which current St. Mary's students, faculty, and staff may check out materials, in person, from participating TexShare libraries.
To get a free TexShare card, complete the online application linked below. Once your application has been received and a card has been generated, you will receive an email directing you to pick up the TexShare card at the Blume Library Circulation Counter. With a TexShare card, you may directly borrow books, music, movies and more from any other participating TexShare library, just as if you were a card-holder there. TexShare cards are valid for one semester only. You will need to get a new card each semester. You must present a current TexShare card, your St. Mary's Rattler ID card, and a photo ID (if your St. Mary's ID does not include a photo) at the library from which you wish to borrow materials.
For borrowers from other institutions:
Borrowers from other institutions can pay TexShare fines, assessed by the Blume Library, with a credit card using our online payment form.
- Blume Library - TexShare Card Program Lending Policy ElementsTexShare Card Program Lending Policy Elements for the Louis J. Blume Library at St. Mary's University.