Theology Resources

This handbook provides a comprehensive guide to methods, terms, and concepts used by biblical interpreters. It offers students and non-specialists an accessible resource for understanding the complex vocabulary that accompanies serious biblical studies. Articles, arranged alphabetically, explain terminology associated with reading the Bible as literature, clarify the various methods Bible scholars use to study biblical texts, and illuminate how different interpretive approaches can contribute to our understanding. Article references and topical bibliographies point readers to resources for further study.

A one-volume reference tool that introduces readers to a wide array of women interpreters of the Bible from the entire history of Christianity. Interpreters include Elizabeth Rice Achtemeier, Saint Birgitta of Sweden, Catherine Mumford Booth, Anne Bradstreet, Catherine of Siena, Clare of Assisi, Egeria, Elizabeth I, Hildegard, Julian of Norwich, Therese of Lisieux, Marcella, Henrietta C. Mears, Florence Nightingale, Phoebe Palmer, Faltonia Betitia Proba, Pandita Ramabai, Christina Georgina Rossetti, Dorothy Leigh Sayers, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, Harriet Beecher Stowe, St. Teresa of Avila, Sojourner Truth, and Susanna Wesley.

This authoritative and compelling guide to the discipline will be an invaluable reference work for all students and academics who want to explore more fully essential topics in Biblical studies.

With this innovative guide, readers can enrich their study with fascinating insights into the Bible and the world in which it was written. The Baker Illustrated Bible Handbook offers the most up-to-date evangelical biblical scholarship in a format that is readable and easy to understand. This book-by-book guide brings the Bible to life with more than 1,100 full-color pages packed with illustrations, maps, and photos, and 112 in-depth articles on a wide range of topics important to students of the Bible.

A prominent biblical scholar offers an entry-level overview of the Bible that presupposes no specialized knowledge of the Bible or of religion. The basic goal of the book is to help the reader become more familiar with reading the Bible. The emphasis is on acquiring basic familiarity with the contents of the Bible.

Written for both mind and heart, this completely revised, updated, and expanded 25th edition of Halley's Bible Handbook retains Dr. Halley's highly personal style. It features: - All-new maps, photographs, and illustrations - Contemporary design - Bible references in easy-to-read, best-selling New International Version (NIV) Practical Bible reading programs - Helpful tips for Bible study - Fascinating archaeological information - Easy-to-understand sections on how we got the Bible and on church history - Improved indexes.

Also available at the Internet Archive. This title contains an extended glossary clarifying approximately 50 methods of biblical interpretation along with the terminology they employ. It clarifies the fundamental role of methodology in the interpretive process and provides readers with an accessible resource for understanding the complex vocabulary that accompanies serious biblical studies. It highlights how different interpretive approaches can affect our understanding of the biblical texts and is ideal for students, ministers and scholars.