Blume Library: Congress, Legislation, etc.: Indexes

Indexes

Govinfo.gov is the Government Publishing Office's index to full-text government information.

govInfo.gov
govinfo is the portal to GPO hosted material. It provides access to U.S. government publications from the three branches of the federal government.

The following databases of full-text legal and regulatory information are offered by govinfo.gov.. Dates given are as of the latest revision of this guide; they are continually adding more retrospective material:

Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
1996 to the present. The CFR is the codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
1992 - present.
Congressional Bills
1993-present. legislative proposals from the House and/or the Senate.
Congressional Calendars
1995-present with a delay. Includes the Calendars of the U.S. House of Representatives and History of Legislation and the Senate Calendar of Business.
Congressional Committee Prints
1975-present. Include topics related to their legislative or research activities, as well as other matters such as memorial tributes.
Congressional Directory
1997-present. Congressional member directory includes short biographies, committee memberships, etc.
Congressional Documents
1975-present. Consists of House Documents, Senate Documents, and Senate Treaty Documents.
Congressional Hearings
1961-present. A hearing is a meeting or session of a Senate, House, joint, or special committee of Congress, usually open to the public, to obtain information and opinions on proposed legislation, conduct an investigation, or evaluate/oversee the activities of a government department or the implementation of a Federal law.
Congressional Record (Bound)
Covers 1873-2013. The CR Bound edition is the collected, repaginated, and permanent edition. One volume per Congressional session.
Congressional Record (Daily)
From 1994 to present. Official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. It is published daily when Congress is in session.
Congressional Record Daily Index (Daily)
1983 to the present. The index proper lists individuals, organizations, and topics mentioned in the Congressional Record.
Congressional Reports
1995-present. Reports originate from congressional committees and deal with proposed legislation and issues under investigation. House and Senate Reports.
Federal Register
1936 - present. Official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
History of Bills
1983-present. Lists legislative actions on bills that are reported in the Congressional Record.
Journal of the House of Representatives
1992-2015. Official record of proceedings of each legislative day in the House of Representatives.
List of CFR Sections Affected
1997 - present.
Public and Private Laws
1995-present. Also known as slip laws. A slip law is an official publication. Public laws affect society as a whole, while private laws affect an individual, family, or small group.
Statutes at Large
82nd Congress (1951) to 2011. The Law Library has complete backfiles of the Statutes.
US Code
Codification of federal laws. 1994-present. The Blume Library no longer has a printed set of U.S. Code volumes, but the Law Library has a set.

Other Indexes

Catalog of Government Publications
Database "for federal publications that includes descriptive information for historical and current publications as well as direct links to the full document, when available." It als included an option to find a nearby Federal Depository Library that has the publication.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is Hein's premier online product, with more than 70 million pages of legal history available in an online, fully-searchable, image-based format. HeinOnline bridges the gap in legal history by providing comprehensive coverage from the inception of more than 1,600 law and law-related periodicals.
Focuses on law journals, case law, and government documents.

Some United States collections include the Congressional Record, Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, and parts of the Serial Set. Other notable collections are the US state collections, Canon law materials, international treaties and agreements, English legal materials, and United Nations legal materials.

Databases by Category: Canadian Content, Case Law, Current Content Journals, International Resources, International Treaties and Agreements, U.K. Content, U.S. Federal Content, U.S. State Content

Learn more about this resource at: https://lib.stmarytx.edu/HeinOnline
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes local, regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as non-English language news; business information about US and international companies; federal, state, and international legal materials including case law, media transcripts, and more.

Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.

Library Resources

Guides & Tutorials

Research Help

Help & Information

Research & Instruction

Borrow, Renew, Request

Study Spaces

Technology

Visit the Library

Mission & Strategy

Other Departments in Blume

Congress, Legislation, etc.: Indexes

Indexes