Media Writing and Reporting

A project of Columbia Journalism School, it "honors innovative, ethical and effective reporting of violence and tragedy across all media platforms."

"In clear, accessible, non-academic language, the site summarizes, highlights and contextualizes high quality peer-reviewed research on newsy and newsworthy major public policy matters." Also provides tip sheets, data resources, and open source syllabi.

Provides numerous resources, including video editing tools, campaign finance money trackers, public records resources, and more.

From Harvard's Nieman Foundation for Journalism, provides access to the Nieman Reports back to 1947 and includes the Nieman Watchdog Project.

Fact-checking resources and in-depth research reports from a nonprofit, nonadvocacy organization.

Reports on violence against journalists in repressive countries and takes action to stop repression.

More than 249 reporters in 90 countries "collaborate on groundbreaking investigations that expose the truth and hold the powerful accountable, while also adhering to the highest standards of fairness and accuracy."

"IRE provides members access to thousands of reporting tip sheets and other materials through its resource center and hosts conferences and specialized training throughout the country. Programs of IRE include the National Institute for Computer Assisted Reporting."

Articles on social media, journalism and trends in news media, with searchable data sets.

"Publishes a number of legal guides that are available free online on topics ranging from state and federal open government laws, reporters’ shield protections around the country, access to court documents and proceedings, and more."

Publishes the annual World Press Freedom Index that evaluates the level of freedom available to the media in 180 countries. Also publishes regular thematic reports.

"The nation’s most broad-based journalism organization, dedicated to encouraging the free practice of journalism and stimulating high standards of ethical behavior."

Promoting the best ideas to advance journalism, the arts and the success of cities.

Promotes diversity in the news media through improved coverage, hiring, business practices and training programs that equip journalists with leadership, multimedia skills and subject expertise for news organizations across platforms. Their primary mission is to ensure that all segments of our diverse society are fairly, accurately and credibly portrayed.

The goals of the NAHJ are to organize and provide support for Hispanic Journalists; to encourage and support the study and practices of journalism and communications by Hispanics; to promote accurate and fair treatment of Hispanics by the news media; to further employment opportunities and career development for Hispanics in the news media; and to foster greater understanding of the unique cultural identity, interests and concerns of Hispanic journalists.

The Poynter Institute specializes in ethics and fact-checking, reporting and storytelling, developing journalism’s leaders, advancing newsroom diversity, and strengthening local news companies.

Useful for tracking social media trends and technology news.

Provides insight and analysis at the intersection of media and technology through the sites MediaShift, EducationShift and MetricShift.

ONA focuses on developing strategies for emerging tech, sharing best practices on audience engagement and metrics, innovative news storytelling, experimenting and finding new revenue and business models, and cultivating newsroom leadership, culture and diversity.

Independent investigative journalism edited by Robert Parry.

Launched in 2007, POLITICO seeks to sustain and expand journalism about politics and policy making nationally and internationally.

Journalism in the public interest.

This research tool, developed in collaboration with New York University Libraries, provides a wealth of material and makes a profound argument for undercover reporting as an inextricable part of US national history and as an essential mode in the public-service mission of news.

Founded in 1975, the ad-free, independent publication brings progressive investigative reporting, commentary, and dispatches on undercovered locations and topics.

A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania, this site monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.

Uses statistical analysis on opinion polls covering politics, sports, economics, science, health, and popular culture.

Web site and database provided by a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that reveals the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states.

Forecast the future of politics, international affairs, technology, sports, entertainment, and more while competing against others.

National Public Radio (NPR) program that analyzes ongoing and controversial issues and topics pertaining to all forms of media. Podcasts and an archive of previous shows are available.

Developed by the Center for Responsive Politics, the site tracks the influence of money on US politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives.

Journalists and researchers from the St. Petersburg Times and CQ (Congressional Quarterly publishers) fact-check the accuracy of speeches, TV ads, interviews and other campaign communications, and post their findings to the PolitiFact website. The site offers a "Truthometer, "a scorecard separating fact from fiction," for analyzing political claims. The "Truthometer" can be browsed by candidate or attacker, by subject, by political party.

A partnership of the Austin American-Statesman and PolitiFact.com to help you find the truth in Texas politics.

Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism annual report. Includes data on media usage, media ownership, and public opinions on the media. Includes digital media, newspapers, network, cable, local TV, magazines, audio, etc.