Library Subscription News Sources
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes local, regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as non-English language news; business information about US and international companies; federal, state, and international legal materials including case law, media transcripts, and more.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. - Historical Newspapers: New York Times with Index This link opens in a new windowThis historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers, and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the time's politics, society, and events.
The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.
Coverage: 1851 - 2020
Subject coverage - Historical local, regional, national and international news - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1984 to the present. Searchable. Indexing includes subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.
International News Sources
World-Newspapers.com links to English-language newspaper sites arranged by region and country.
Sourcewatch - Center for Media and Democracy
Sourcewatch from the Center for Media and Democracy provides links to:
- Conservative news outlets including: Accuracy in Media (AIM), CNSNews.com, Drudge Report, Federal Observer, FOX News, Free Republic, Media Research Center, MensNewsDaily.com, National Review, Washington Times, Weekly Standard, WorldNetDaily
- Liberal news outlets including: AlterNet, Daily Kos, Democratic Underground, Fairness & Accuracy in Reporting (FAIR), In These Times, Independent Media Center, Media Matters for America, Mother Jones, MSNBC, The Nation, New Republic, PR Watch (from Center for Media and Democracy), The Progressive, Salon, Truthout, Utne
Aggregators
- BuzzFeed"A cross-platform, global network for news and entertainment that generates six billion views each month. BuzzFeed creates and distributes content for a global audience." Provides mobile apps and social media platforms.
- GristCovers climate, energy, food, cities, justice, politics, tech, and green living, and more. Provides commentary and news.
- theSkimmAggregator appealing to women between ages 22–34 (Millennials).
Texas News Sources
Analysis Sites
- FactCheck.orgA project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center at the University of Pennsylvania, this site monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews, and news releases.
- FiveThirtyEight (538)Uses statistical analysis on opinion polls covering politics, sports, economics, science, health, and popular culture.
- Follow the Money - National Institute on Money in State PoliticsWeb site and database provided by a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that reveals the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states.
- Good Judgment OpenForecast the future of politics, international affairs, technology, sports, entertainment, and more while competing against others.
- On the MediaNational Public Radio (NPR) program that analyzes ongoing and controversial issues and topics pertaining to all forms of media. Podcasts and an archive of previous shows are available.
- OpenSecrets.orgDeveloped by the Center for Responsive Politics, the site tracks the influence of money on US politics, and how that money affects policy and citizens' lives.
- PolitiFact.comJournalists and researchers from the St. Petersburg Times and CQ (Congressional Quarterly publishers) fact-check the accuracy of speeches, TV ads, interviews and other campaign communications, and post their findings to the PolitiFact website. The site offers a "Truthometer, "a scorecard separating fact from fiction," for analyzing political claims. The "Truthometer" can be browsed by candidate or attacker, by subject, by political party.
- PolitiFact TexasA partnership of the Austin American-Statesman and PolitiFact.com to help you find the truth in Texas politics.
- State of the News MediaPew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism annual report. Includes data on media usage, media ownership, and public opinions on the media. Includes digital media, newspapers, network, cable, local TV, magazines, audio, etc.
Investigative Journalism
- Consortium NewsIndependent investigative journalism edited by Robert Parry.
- POLITICOLaunched in 2007, POLITICO seeks to sustain and expand journalism about politics and policy making nationally and internationally.
- ProPublicaJournalism in the public interest.
- Undercover Reporting: Deception for Journalism's Sake: A DatabaseThis research tool, developed in collaboration with New York University Libraries, provides a wealth of material and makes a profound argument for undercover reporting as an inextricable part of US national history and as an essential mode in the public-service mission of news.
- Washington SpectatorFounded in 1975, the ad-free, independent publication brings progressive investigative reporting, commentary, and dispatches on undercovered locations and topics.