Professor & Reference and Instruction Librarian Coordinator
Diane Duesterhoeft
she/her
Contact:
Louis J. Blume Library, Room 201
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
210-436-3346
Country Profiles
-
BBC News Country ProfilesProfiles of countries, territories, and major international organizations. Profiles include a description, analysis of the current economic and political situation, media sources in the country, and links to recent BBC News articles as well as audio and video links.
-
CIA World Factbookprovides information about countries including history, government, economy, military, etc.
-
Eldis Country and Region ProfilesWorld development and environment information on countries and regions in Africa, East Asia and the Pacific, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East and North Africa. Includes Eldis-produced reports and links to information produced by other international agencies such as the UN, Amnesty International, the World Bank, etc.
Current News Databases
-
Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues. Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with curricular areas such as Political Science, English, Sociology, Humanities, Business, International Studies and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of international, national, and local news sources. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
-
Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new windowComprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available for the Chicago Tribune through ProQuest.
The Chicago Tribune keeps readers informed of the latest news from the Chicago area, the nation, and the world every day. The Tribune has a reputation for investigative and public service journalism earning 24 Pulitzer Prizes since 1932. -
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Los Angeles Times. Coverage 1985 to the present.
ProQuest Historical newspaper content is among researchers’ most sought-after primary source material. From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local, and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and so much more. -
New York Times, Late Edition (East Coast) This link opens in a new windowFull text of the New York Times. Coverage 1980 to the present. Searchable. The paper of record in the U.S. is best known for its analysis of news, issues, and social changes. ProQuest Historical newspaper content is among researchers’ most sought-after primary source material. From leading issues and events, like the U.S. Civil War, immigration, westward expansion, industrial developments, race relations, and World War I and II; to international, local, and regional politics, society, arts, culture, business, and sports, ProQuest Historical Newspapers™ reveals the day-to-day news coverage to researchers and historical explorers, providing invaluable insights and information to users from a wide range of subjects. Every issue of each title includes the complete paper, cover-to-cover, with full-page and article images in easily downloadable PDF format. Researchers can study the progression of issues over time through these historical newspaper pages, including articles, photos, advertisements, classified ads, obituaries, editorial cartoons, and so much more.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Includes local, regional, national, and international newspapers, as well as non-English language news; business information about US and international companies; federal, state, and international legal materials including case law, media transcripts, and more.
Nexis Uni features more than 17,000 news, business, and legal sources—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790. -
San Antonio Express-News This link opens in a new window
San Antonio Express-News has been the voice of South Texas since 1867 and provides news and information to a community of more than 2 million people. This newspaper provides investigative and enterprise reports, in-depth local news, and insider analyses.
-
Texas News Sources This link opens in a new window
Local and Regional newspapers from communities throughout Texas discussing daily news topics and issues.
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Wall Street Journal. Coverage 1984 to the present. Searchable. Indexing includes subjects, companies, people, products, and geographic areas. the single most authoritative source of global and national business reporting.
-
Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull text of the Washington Post. Coverage 1987 to the present. Searchable. Has distinguished itself through its reporting on international politics and policy, security and all facets of the U.S. government.
-
Newspapers in A-Z DatabasesComplete list of databases that include large numbers of newspapers.
You will also find newspapers in the Blume Library's portal, Discover. Discover includes a wide range of sources, like books, journal articles, videos, etc. You can limit to Newspapers.
-
Discover This link opens in a new window
Blume Library's primary search tool. This robust feature helps scholars find scholarly journals and articles, books, eBooks, music, videos, government information, and more. Input the keywords of your research to generate a results list full of articles and items covering the topic. Use boolean phrases (AND, OR, NOT) and other limiters to focus a search or modify a results list. This tool searches most of the Blume Library holdings including the Library Catalog of physical items and eResources.
Learn more about this powerful resource: DISCOVER
Reach out to a Blume Librarian for research assistance: RESEARCH ASSISTANCE
Historical Digital Collections
-
EuroDocs: Online Sources for European HistoryLinks to freely available European historical documents. May be browsed by country.
-
European History Primary Sources (EHPS)Index of online primary resources on the history of Europe. Site created and maintained by the Department of History and Civilisation at the European University Institute.
-
Europeanadigital collections from Europe's libraries, archives, and museums. Content includes documents, books, images, audio files, videos, maps, etc.
International
-
Avalon Project: Documents in Law, History, and DiplomacyProject of Yale Law School that includes primary research materials (mostly digitized text) from the ancient era (4000 bce) to the present.
-
The Commons on FlickrDatabase of photographs from archives, museums, and other public institutions from around the world. Contributors include the Library of Congress, the New York Public Library, the Smithsonian, George Eastman House, National Archives UK, etc.
-
Harvard Library Explore CollectionPortal to various collections at Harvard University Library. Collections cover popular research topics like the women's history, the Holocaust, immigration, crime, etc. NOTE: Be sure to check box Available Online.
-
HathiTrust Digital LibraryCollection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. Note: some full-text items, some limited access titles.
-
Hein Online - Foreign & International Law Resource Collection"includes the publications of the American Society of International Law along with prominent Yearbooks from around the world, including the Hague Permanent Court of International Justice series.It also includes U.S. Law Digests, International Tribunals/Judicial Decisions and more"
-
Hein Online - United Nations Law Collection"major United Nations legal publications, including the complete collection of the United Nations Treaty Series, the League of Nations Treaty Series, the Monthly Statement of Treaties & International Agreements, UNCITRAL Publications, UNIDIR Publications, the United Nations Legislative Series and much more"
-
Hein Online - World Treaty Library"collection brings together Rohn, Dumont, Bevans, Martens, League of Nations, United States, and United Nations treaties into one searchable database"
-
International Military Tribunal for GermanyNuremberg Trials Collection via the Avalon Project website. Transcripts in English. Period: World War II.
-
Internet ArchiveSearchable portal to a huge range of archival collections from hundreds of institutions. Browse the top collections to gain an ideas of the scope. Also includes several million books through the "Books to Borrow" service.
-
Internet History Sourcebooks Project"A collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented ... for educational use." Topics include ancient history, medieval history, and modern history from across the globe.
-
National Archives CatalogLocate records, and limited digitized materials, from the National Archives. Search and then choose "Available Online" to find digitized materials.
-
NATO Archives OnlineDigitized collection of NATO documents (North American Treaty Organization). Documents from the Alliance's first 10 years and a collection of NATO publications.
-
Origins of the Cold WarAnnotated list of open access primary sources
-
Primary Sources on the Web: Finding, Evaluating, UsingFor other ideas, take a look at this site, produced by the RUSA Division of the American Library Association, which was "designed to provide students and researchers with information to help them evaluate the internet sources and the quality of primary materials that can be found online."
-
Wilson Center Digital Archive: International History Declassified"The Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe... It collects the research of three Wilson Center projects which focus on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation."
-
World Digital LibraryProject of the US Library of Congress and the United Nations UNESCO to make available "significant primary materials from all countries and cultures."
-
World War IDetailed research guide listing resources for historical and literary analysis of World War I. Created as part of the St. Mary's University Community Reading Experience hosted in Fall 2014.
