1. Find a Topic that Interests You
You will want to pick your topic based on various factors including the assignment, course research expectations, and your professor's feedback. However, it is important to select your topic based on your personal interest too.
You should explore your interests by reading more about them. Background information can be found in:
- your textbook and other course readings
- encyclopedia entries
- survey articles
Here a some suggestions for databases with background information. Remember, there are more possibilities than those items listed here.
- Credo Reference This link opens in a new windowCredo Reference's curated, authoritative reference sources provide a firm foundation for understanding a topic. Core Collection subscribers can search in hundreds of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri, quotations, subject-specific book titles, video titles, thousands of images, audio files, and maps. The eBook Collection features thousands of core reference works from acclaimed imprints such as Facts On File, Ferguson's, and Bloom's on a wide range of subject areas, from history to science, literature, and more. Fianlly, Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos in 30+ subjects, including the humanities, science, business, literature, health, and more. Professors can stimulate and reinforce their lectures, and students can find inspiration and materials for their research. New content is added regularly.
- Gale in Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints is the premier online resource covering today's hottest social issues, from capital punishment to immigration to marijuana. This cross-curricular resource supports science, social studies, current events, and language arts classes. Informed, differing views help learners develop critical-thinking skills and draw their own conclusions.
Opposing Viewpoints is a rich resource for debaters and includes viewpoints, reference articles, infographics, news, images, video, audio, and more. A category on the National Debate Topic provides quick and easy access to content on frequently studied and discussed issues. Periodical content covers current events, news and commentary, economics, environmental issues, political science, and more.
2. Develop a Research Question
Build on information from your background reading to come up with a topic or question.
Example: What is the impact of female educational attainment on entrepreneurship?
Brainstorm a list of words to use when you search library databases and other sources (aka: your search vocabulary or keywords). Think about the words you could use in your searches to find more information on your potential topic. Use tools like a database thesaurus or subject list to come up with related terms.
Example: impact, women, female, educational attainment, entrepreneurship, small firms, small business
Start noting the words (like people, places, subjects, concepts, etc.) that you will use when you do your preliminary search. It's really helpful to have this list of search terms as you continue to search for articles and other materials on your topic.
3. Broaden or Narrow Your Topic
Try searching for your initial topic in Discover.
You may find that you topic is:
- too broad (lots of materials but on narrower subtopics)
- too narrow (not enough articles to answer your question)
- too new (not much written yet, particularly in academic journals)
You will want to think about ways to focus your ideas so you can find the right mix of materials to use to build and support your topic and research thesis.
If your topic is too broad
- focus on an aspect of your topic by being more specific. Consider pairing your search term with a certain population group (adults, adolescents,, etc.), geographic area, culture, research method (survey, experiment, observational study), culture, time period, etc.
If your topic is too narrow
- use more general terminology, search on just one or two words (add fewer terms to your search).
Be sure to ask me or another librarian for help if you have questions about your research topic. We can help you develop strong search strategies and point you to helpful databases and online sources.