Professor & Instruction & Research Librarian Coordinator
St. Mary's University
One Camino Santa Maria
San Antonio, TX 78228-8608
USA
dduesterhoeft@stmarytx.edu
Social History
Civil Rights/Human Rights
- Human Rightsdeals with the history of human rights in the UK from 1215 to 1945, with timelines and links to digital documents, many of which are relevant to the US. UK National Archives.
Criminal Justice and Law
- Bureau of Justice StatisticsThis agency compiles and collects statistics on corrections, courts and sentencing, victims, criminal offenders, and law enforcement.
- Famous American Trialsincludes links to official documents, background and analytical studies, contemporary and later reactions, maps, photographs and other illustrations
- Indian Affairs: Laws & TreatiesDigitization of a major reference resource: Kappler's Indian Affairs. 7 volumes
Economics
- ALFRED (Federal Reserve)"retrieve vintage versions of economic data that were available on specific dates in history....Vintage or real time economic data allows academics to reproduce others' research, build more accurate forecasting models, and analyze economic policy decisions using the data available at the time." By the St. Louis Fed.
- FRASER (Federal Reserve)Digital library and database of US economic, financial, and banking. Dates from 1921 to the present (some older works included). "Many Federal Reserve Banks also produce statistical data publications covering their district, relevant markets, or the nation."
Education
- NCES PublicationsCurrent and historical reports including Condition of Education, Digest of Education Statistics, Youth Indicators, etc. National Center For Education Statistics.
Labor
- Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS)BLS covers inflation & prices, pay & benefits, employment/unemployment, workplace injuries, spending & time use, and productivity. Well-know datasets include the Consumer Price Index and Producer Price Index. Also includes some regional and international data.
- Wirtz Laborl Library (Dept. of Labor)Archive includes Department of Labor publications, trade union and labor history materials, labor leaders’ biographies, statistical abstracts, etc.
Women
- Women Working: 1800-1930Digitized copies US Labor Department publications as well as other content like photos, etc.
Bureau of Labor Statistics Bulletins. L 2.3: . Statistical and other information on the labor force, prices, working conditions, etc. The Library has a few older numbers from the 1920's and 1930's but the bulk of the collection begins in the 1960's. They are no longer being received in print.
Crime in the United States. J 1.14/7: . 1960- . Statistics on crimes and law enforcement based on arrest records. Available online from the FBI for 1995 to the present.
Employment, Hours and Earnings. L 2.3:2454. Detailed statistics by industry back to 1909. Other volumes in the BLS bulletins series (L 2.3: ) deal with different time periods.
Findings on the Worst Forms of Child Labor. L 29.18: . Information on labor conditions and legal systems in various countries.
Handbook of Labor Statistics (volumes for 1929, 1931: L 2.3:491, 541; 1967-1985: L 2.3/5: ). The old volumes in this standard statistical compendium contain contain analysis and reports in addition to tables of data. The newer editions provide statistics only.
Historical Statistics of the U.S.: Colonial Times to 1970. C 3.134/2:H 62/ . Time series, mostly annual, providing a statistical history of U.S. social, economic, political and geographic development. Data is given by nation, states and selected cities. The edition to 1970 is for reference use in the Library only, but there are earlier editions (to 1945 and 1957) which circulate, and an online version is available from the Internet Archive.
Integration of the Armed Forces, 1940-1965. D 114.2:IN 8. 1981. The Army's Center of Military History provides this history of the integration of a major institution during and after World War II.
Job Patterns for Minorities and Women in Private Industry. Y 3. EQ 2/12-7: . Statistics on race, ethnic group, salaries and types of employment. The Library no longer holds tangible copies of these reports, but volumes back to 1998 are available online from the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.
Labor Force Statistics Derived from the Current Population Survey, 1948-87. L 2.3:2307. Compilation of monthly, quarterly and yearly statistics from various labor force series of the CPS. There are numerous cross-tabulations by age, educational level, sex, marital status, etc.
Papers on U.S. Immigration History. Y 3.Im 6/2:2 Im 6/app. 1981. Published with reports of the Select Commission on Immigration and Refugee Policy. Volumes of background studies cover refugees, legal and illegal immigration, temporary workers, etc.
Working Women; a Chartbook. L 2.3:2385. Charts, tables and some narrative covering the period 1960-90.